Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



2001 ASP Awards winners honoured at awards night

The Hobgoods & Pierre Tostee : photo Karen

2001 ASP Awards

At its glittering year-end awards banquet in Honolulu on Friday the following awards were made for the 2001 season:

Men´s World Champion: CJ Hobgood (USA)

Women´s World Champion: Layne Beachley (Australia)

Longboard World Champion: Colin McPhillips (USA)

Junior World Champion: Joel Parkinson (Australia)

Master´s World Champion: Gary Elkerton (Australia)

Grand Master´s World Champion: Mark Richards (Australia)

Men´s Runner-Up: Mark Occhilupo (Australia)

Women´s Runner-Up: Melanie Redman (Australia)

Men´s WQS Champion: Mick Fanning (Australia)

Women´s WQS Champion: Jaqueline Silva (Brazil)

Men´s Rookie of the Year: Trent Munro (Australia)

Men´s Most Improved: Damien Hobgood (USA)

Women´s Most Improved: Melanie Redman (Australia)

Service to the Sport: Randy Rarick (Hawaii)

Cultural Award: Harry Hodge (Aus) & Jeff Hakman (Haw)

Appreciation Award: Chilli-Sportsworld Media Group

Congratulations to all!

Report compiled by View from the Beach

Paul Botha -

Events - Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter