Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



2003 Coca-Cola Australian Surfing Hall of Fame Awards

Wayne Dean : photo P Chevodin/

2003 Coca-Cola Australian Surfing Hall of Fame Awards

Australian surfing legend Wayne Deane (Gold Coast) was last night inducted into the Australian Surfing Hall of Fame before his peers in an awards ceremony at Twin Towns Services Club, Coolangatta.

Dean’s induction was announced at the Coca-Cola Australian Surfing Hall of Fame Awards 2003 presented by Oz Platinum and convened by Surfing Australia. Around 200 invitees representing the surfing industry elite, surfing associations and Quiksilver and Roxy Pro competitors attended the function.

Surfing Australia Honorary Historian and Hall of Fame inductee Peter Troy said Deane was an obvious choice for this year’s inductee, because of his outstanding contribution to surfing as a competitor, shaper, environmentalist and Life Member of Snapper Rocks Boardriders Club.

“He is a real surfing legend, having won 15 National Titles in both shortboard and longboard divisions and an ISA World Longboard Title. Wayne has a very envious competition record and in fact seems to be getting better with age as he is still dominating the Australian Longboard Circuit at 40 years young, ” he said.

Early contributors who advanced Australian surfing, Paul Witzig and Gordon Woods, were both awarded Coca Cola Lifestyle Awards, a new category for the Hall of Fame. Both are identities in their own right in the surfboard industry. Woods was a pioneer in Australian board shaping making his first board in 1941. Paul is best known for capturing the spirit of Australian surfing on film as it found it’s own identity.

Five other Honor Roll Awards recognizing outstanding contributions to Australian surfing were also announced. They were:

The Surfing Award for an outstanding achievement in competition or free surfing by a male during 2002 went to Joel Parkinson. World no.2 Parkinsonl, a Coolangatta local, set the surfing world on fire by winning the 2002 Quiksilver Pro on the Gold Coast, and the 2002 Rip Curl Cup at Sunset Beach, Hawaii. Torquay’s Ross Clarke-Jones was also recognised for his performances in big wave surfing. The Surfing Award for an outstanding achievement in competition or free surfing by a woman during 2002 went to Layne Beachley. The Sydney surfer Beachley won her fifth World Title in 2002 rewriting the record books for the most world titles ever won.

The Administration Award for an outstanding contribution to Australian surfing in the field of association or event administration went to Max Wells for his outstanding management of the Roxy Surf Jam, an all girls surfing program that visited 18 locations in both Australia and New Zealand in 2002. As State Director for Surfing Victoria, Max has major input into the management and presentation of the annual Rip Curl Pro contest at Bells Beach.

The Pioneering Award for the conduct of a significant project that has potential within surfing and for breaking new frontiers went to the Billabong Odyssey. The concept has captured the imagination of surfers across the globe and services a new frontier of the sport.

The Innovation Award for a project or application of an idea was awarded to Salomon for their ‘S-Core’ shapeable foam technology. Shannon O’Brien from Salomon Australia who was stoked to be presented with the award said ‘We are taking our time with the project to get our product right. We are working alongside notable shapers from around the world called the ‘Red Circle’ to help refine our product in the quest to make that magic board.”

Award for a current book, film, magazine edition, video, photo or journalism was presented to Matt Griggs for his book Surfers. The book was widely read and well received by the world surfing community. A major work for a young author successfully capturing the spirit of identities within the sport.

The Duke Award for outstanding contribution to Surfing Australia administration went to Newcastle’s Roger Clements. The Novocastrian has been involved with the administration of Surfing in NSW and more particularly Newcastle, since 1972. His tireless dedication as a volunteer to the sport at club, region and state level was recognised last night.

The Coca-Cola Australian Surfing Hall of Fame Awards have been convened annually since 1985 by Surfing Australia to preserve the history of Australian Surfing, and so honour its greats. The voting panel consists of the Members of the Hall of Fame and official surfing historians.

More Aussie Surfing News available here

Check the latest Aussie Surf Reports and Forecasts

For more info Contact:

Tom Campbell

Business Development Manager

Surfing Australia

Tel: 0408 701150

Awards - Surfersvillage

- - - Announcements presented by - - -
The worldwide Surforecasts meteo center
Check all events at Worldwide Contests Register
Check international - 2003 ASP World Tour Schedule
European Camping-Car & Motorhome rentals - info + details


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter