Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



2012 World Champ Parko wins Pipe Masters

Click here for video © Billabong  

Billabong Pipe Masters

ASP Men's World Tour Event
Banzai Pipeline, North Shore Oahu
8 - 20 December 2012

Live Coverage | Results/Photos/Videos etc

2012 World Champion Joel Parkinson wins Pipe Masters

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 15 December, 2012 : - - Banzai Pipeline, Oahu/Hawaii – Joel Parkinson claimed his maiden ASP World Title Friday at Pipeline by winning the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons. The event was also the third and final leg of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing series. Only Parkinson and Kelly Slater were in contention for the world title. Parkinson needed to finish one position higher to claim the title. With Slater’s loss to Josh Kerr in the semi-final, Parkinson’s dream became reality. Parkinson went on to beat Kerr in the final.

Parkinson has been the world title bridesmaid four times (2002, 2004, 2009, 2011). His Billabong Pipe Masters victory is his 11th elite event win over the course of his career, and by clinching the ASP World Title has established himself as one of the greatest surfers of all time.

Parkinson’s 2012 ASP WCT Results:
Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast: 5th
Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach: 3rd
Billabong Rio Pro: 2nd
Volcom Fiji Pro: 9th
Billabong Pro Tahiti: 2nd
Hurley Pro at Trestles: 2nd
Quiksilver Pro France: 3rd
Rip Curl Pro Portugal: 3rd
O’Neill Coldwater Classic: 5th
Billabong Pipe Masters: WINNER



Slater was reflective following his Semifinal defeat this afternoon and gracious in honoring Parkinson on stage in front of a capacity crowd at the Banzai Pipeline. Josh Kerr battled his way to a career first ASP WCT Final. He suffered a heavy wipeout in his round four heat with Slater and Gabriel Medina resulting in a brief trip to the hospital. After medical clearance, Kerr overcame the setback to take it all the way to the final. Kerr finished the 2012 ASP season ranked No. 8 on the ASP WCT rankings.

Damien Hobgood eliminated defending event champion Kieren Perrow while attaining his best result of his season. Hobgood was a standout at both Pipeline and Backdoor, but was unable to surpass Parkinson in their Semifinals matchup, finishing equal 3rd. Hobgood’s Equal 3rd place finish at Pipeline vaults him up to 16th on the 2012 ASP WCT rankings.



John John Florence (HAW) - 2012 ASP Rookie of the Year.
John John Florence (HAW) - Hawaiian Airlines Airshow Winner - best aerial of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing series.
Awarded earlier: Sebastian Zietz (HAW) - 2012 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing champion

1 – Joel Parkinson (AUS) 17.17
2 – Josh Kerr (AUS) 14.83

SF 1: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 17.30 def. Damien Hobgood (USA) 14.63
SF 2: Josh Kerr (AUS) 11.13 def. Kelly Slater (USA) 4.90

2012 ASP WCT Top 5:
1 – Joel Parkinson (AUS) 58,700 pts
2 – Kelly Slater (USA) 55,450 pts
3 – Mick Fanning (AUS) 47,000 pts
4 – John John Florence (HAW) 44,350 pts
5 – Adriano de Souza (BRA) 42,350 pts

Check the Full Coverage

Previous reports:
# 1 : What's the forecast? All eyes on Pipe
# 2 : We love a title race: Pipe cranks up drama
# 3 : Pipe turns on, cuts title race down to two

# 4 : Billabong Pipe Masters calls Lay Day
# 5 :
Pipe Masters calls a second Lay Day
# 6 : Holding pattern continues for Pipeline 
# 7 : Billabong Pipe Masters waits another day

Source: Vans/ASP

Author: The Editors

Tags: Billabong Pipe Masters, Vans Triple Crown, World Titles

WCT: Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter