Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Event two of Billabong Jnr Series hits Cape Town

2013 finalists in Durban © Billabong / Kody McGregor


50th Billabong Junior Series 

Billabong Junior Series
Cape Town, South Africa
8 - 10 August, 2014

50th Billabong Junior Series Event Presented By BOS To Be Held In Cape Town 

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 27 July, 2014 - Cape Town - the Billabong Junior Series presented by BOS will be holding their second event in the 2014 Junior Series in Cape Town over the three days of 8 - 10 August. This event is the second in the three-event series, and is the fiftieth Billabong Junior Series contest to be held in South Africa.

The Billabong Junior Series presented by BOS is the longest-running and most-prestigious junior surfing series in the country, and over the years has spawned such champions as Jordy Smith, Dale Staples, Beyrick De Vries and Mikey February, to name a few. Billabong has paid out over R1M in prize money in the series to date, which also makes it the richest junior series in the country.

The Billabong Junior series introduces our young surfers to a fun, healthy and competitive environment, with a goal to allow them to flourish as competitive surfers and well-rounded athletes.
"We have always believed that if we offer the junior surfers the best competitive experiences at our events, that they will benefit from it and rise to the top," said Billabong South Africa Marketing Manager Chad D'Arcy.

"The events are run off under ASP guidelines and offer these surfers a glimpse of what life would be like as a professional surfer. We are proud of our history in developing our junior surfers over the years, and are very proud that we have reached the milestone of 50 events in the junior series over the years." 

The divisions for Cape Town are:
U12 Boys - 1A PST rated.
U14 Boys and U14 Girls - 2A PST rated.
U16 Boys and U16 Girls - 2A PST rated.
U20 Boys and U20 Girls - 1* ASP Pro Junior rated.

The contest organisers have decided that there will be no U18 division, and all U18's are invited to enter the U20 Pro Junior division instead. The U20 Pro Junior division is the premier dvision in this series and it is the goal of the series to encourage surfers to compete at the very best of their abilities, and thus enter the Pro Junior division.

Surfers from the U16 division are invited to enter the Pro Junior division as well.
There is R30,000 prize money in total for the ASP Pro Junior division.

Series Awards:
BOS Surfer of the Series – the most consistent surfer of the series across all age divisions as judged by BOS. They win a R20K overall prize consisting of:
- R10K cash
- A custom made BOS surfboard
- BOS merchandise
- A year's supply of BOS Ice Tea

There is also an award of a Nixon Limited edition 48-20 for the series winners in the U/20 Boys and U/20 Girls divisions.

ASP Division: The first two events of the Billabong Junior Series will also be used exclusively as selection for the ASP World Juniors Champs, with 3 regional male surfers and 1 regional women surfer to be selected for the WJC at the end of October in Portugal.

Chad D'Arcy

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter