Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



6 star Maresia Surf International in Brazil gets lay day

Florianopolis : photo  Basilio Ruy

Maresia Surf International

ASP 6 Star Men's event
Florianopolis, Santa Catarina Brazil
18 - 23 May 2010

Live Coverage  |  Results/Photos/Videos etc

Storm hampers launch of 6-Star event

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 18 May, 2010 : - - Florianopolis, Santa Catarina -- The start of 6 stars WQS Maresia Surf International 2010 has been postponed for tomorrow due the messed up line up by the storm weather conditions. After a second call, at 12 a.m., the event manager Bira Schauffert opted to wait until tomorrow morning once the weather and swell conditions should improve throughout the week.

"The East wind brought too much rain, the ocean  was very messy, making the judging very hard, the waves are not good, then the general consensus was to postpone the start of the event for tomorrow (Wednesday)," said Bira Schauffert. "We have a good wave forecast for the following week and to 144 competitors in this format can have a day off. So tomorrow we will starts the competition at 8 am."

FIFTEEN COUNTRIES - The inaugural heat of Maresia Surf International 2010 will have three Brazilians, Alan Jones, Michel Roque and Vicente Romero, facing Parrish Byrne. The Australian is one of 46 surfers from fifteen other countries in the event, which celebrates 25 years of the World Tour competitions in Santa Catarina.

Australia and the United States fill the list with the largest foreign contingents, twelve surfers each. Then comes South Africa with seven and Hawaii with five surfers. The remaining countries will have a single representative: France, Spain, England, New Zealand, Indonesia, Reunion Island, Chile, Uruguay, Argentina and Trinidad Tobago. The Brazilian squad features 98 competitors for the title.

The original schedule is to perform 20 heats per day running the round of 144 surfers tomorrow until heat 20. Then the last four of the first round will open the Thursday morning activities.

Check the Live Coverage

Round of 144:
Heat 1: Alan Jones (BRA), Parrish Byrne (AUS), Michel Roque (BRA), Vicente Romero (BRA)
Heat 2: David do Carmo (BRA), Robson Santos (BRA), Leandro Usuna (ARG), Nathan Brandi (BRA)
Heat 3: Kiron Jabour (HAW), Shaun Joubert (ZAF), Tamae Bettero (BRA), Jared Thorne (USA)
Heat 4: Neco Padaratz (BRA), Krystian Kymmerson (BRA), Guilherme Ramalho (BRA), Felipe Teixeira (BRA)
Heat 5: Messias Felix (BRA), Dede Suryana (IDN), Alan Donato (BRA), Jonathan Busetti (BRA)
Heat 6: Thiago de Sousa (BRA), Alex Ribeiro (BRA), Thiago Guimaraes (BRA), Marthen Pagliarini (BRA)
Heat 7: Jano Belo (BRA), Bernardo Lopes (BRA), Nick Riley (AUS), Saul Senna (BRA)
Heat 8: Flavio Nakagima (BRA), Ryah Arthur (USA), Raphael Becker (BRA), Robson Gobbato (BRA)
Heat 9: Tomas Hermes (BRA), Franklin Serpa (BRA), Andre Teixeira (BRA), Guilherme Ferreira (BRA)
Heat 10: Junior Faria (BRA), Ricky Basnett  (ZAF), Jason Harris (USA), Marcos Pastro (BRA)
Heat 11: Patrick Tamberg (BRA), Odirlei Coutinho (BRA), Edvan Silva (BRA), Chris Dennis (TTO)
Heat 12: Jeronimo Vargas (BRA), Beto Mariano (BRA), Yan Guimaraes (BRA), Pedro Husadel (BRA)
Heat 13: Gustavo Fernandes (BRA), Jorge Spanner (BRA), Brendon Gibbens (ZAF), Dickson Queiroz (BRA)
Heat 14: Ruda Carvalho (BRA), Ricardo Ferreira (BRA), Alvaro Bacana (BRA), Kyle Lane (ZAF)
Heat 15: Chris Waring (USA), Alan Stokes (GBR), Greg Cordeiro (BRA), Emerson Piai (BRA)
Heat 16: Peterson Rosa (BRA), Caio Ibelli (BRA), Chad Du Toit (ZAF), Antonio Eudes (BRA)
Heat 17: Thiago Camarao (BRA), Medi Veminardi (REU), Igor Morais (BRA), Caue Wood (BRA)
Heat 18: Ricardo Santos (BRA), Caetano Vargas (BRA), Beyrick De Vries (ZAF), Alandreson Martins (BRA)
Heat 19: Dunga Neto (BRA), Itim Silva (BRA), Denis Tihara (BRA), Icaro Ronchi (BRA)
Heat 20: Halley Batista (BRA), Ian Gouveia (BRA), Alex Lima (BRA), Daison Pereira (BRA)
Heat 21: Charlie Brown (BRA), Beto Fernandes (BRA), Jesse Mendes (BRA), Victor Borges (BRA)
Heat 22: Victor Ribas (BRA), Manuel Selman (CHL), Mitchel Coleborn (AUS), Bryan Franco (BRA)
Heat 23: Saulo Junior (BRA), Kevin Sullivan (HAW), Peterson Crisanto (BRA), Taylor Thorne (USA)
Heat 24: Chris Ward (USA), Matt Pagan (USA), Rowan Aish (NZL), David Martins (BRA)

Round of 96:
Heat 1: Jadson Andre (BRA) and Davi de Jesus (BRA)
Heat 2: Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA) and Brandon Jackson (AFR)
Heat 3: Marco Giorgi (URU) and Jayke Sharp (AUS)
Heat 4: Dion Atkinson (AUS) and Simao Romao (BRA)
Heat 5: Gabe Kling (USA) and Blake Wilson (AUS)
Heat 6: Nathan Hedge (AUS) and Bernardo Pigmeu (BRA)
Heat 7: Leonardo Neves (BRA) and Pablo Paulino (BRA)
Heat 8: Sebastien Zietz (HAW) and Paulo Moura (BRA)
Heat 9: Marco Polo (BRA) and Renato Galvao (BRA)
Heat 10: Dayyan Neve (AUS) and Diego Rosa (BRA)
Heat 11: Rudy Palmboom (ZAF) and Gabriel Medina (BRA)
Heat 12: Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) and Shaun Ward (USA)
Heat 13: Raoni Monteiro (BRA) and Marco Fernandez (BRA)
Heat 14: Lincoln Taylor (AUS) and Marcio Farney (BRA)
Heat 15: Hizunome Bettero (BRA) and Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 16: John John Florence (HAW) and T. J. Barron (HAW)
Heat 17: Alejo Muniz (BRA) and Jean da Silva (BRA)
Heat 18: Yuri Sodre (BRA) and Pedro Henrique (BRA)
Heat 19: Austin Ware (USA) and Andre Silva (BRA)
Heat 20: Willian Cardoso (BRA) and Heath Joske (AUS)
Heat 21: Nathaniel Curran (USA) and Jihad Khodr (BRA)
Heat 22: Aritz Aranburu (EUK) and Leandro Bastos (BRA)
Heat 23: Shaun Cansdell (AUS) and Romain Cloitre (FRA)
Heat 24: Heitor Alves (BRA) and Luke Campbell (AUS)

Previous reports:
# 1 :
Coming soon
# 2 :
Coming soon
# 3 :
Coming soon
# 4 :
Coming soon  

The Maresia Surf International 2010 is sponsored by Maresia and the Government of the State of Santa Catarina (FUNDESPORTE). The achievement is the City of Florianopolis, Department of Tourism, Culture and Sports, Santa Catarina Surf Federation (FECASURF), Association of Surfing Praia Mole and Salva Surf Brazil. The event also has the support of Praia Mole Eco Village, El Divino Lounge and surf shops Jamaica Surf Shop, Tent Beach Boardshop, Overboard, Aloha Surfshop, Planet Surf Board Shop, Paranoid, Surf Trip, Sumatra Surf Co., Bahamas Surfshop , Bali, Fissure, Ecological, New Look and Mabuya Surfwear. The official coverage made by the magazines Fluir and Wave Wind Sports, the Newspaper Drop and websites Waves and Solto.  

What's your take on this?
Post your thoughts: SV Forum

New Survey: Map Surfing’s future 

More Surfing News available here
Check the latest Surf Reports and Forecasts 

New! B2B News ASBE-Surf   |  Receive News-Alerts

Joao Carvalho / Gustavo Oliveira

ASP Star Contests - Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter