Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Academic flare: NSSA announces Surfer Scholars

Jason Schechter : photo courtesy NSSA

NSSA Updates


Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 8 June, 2010 : - - One of the primary goals of the National Scholastic Surfing Association is to emphasize and encourage the academic achievement of its membership. The Surfer Scholar list serves to recognize NSSA student surfers who have a passion for learning and have excelled scholastically. 

The National Scholastic Surfing Association congratulates all of our student surfers who have maintained an outstanding 3.5 GPA or higher for the 2009-10 school year. We are proud to honor these outstanding student-surfers!
4.67 GPA
Jason Schechter-Canyon Crest Academy
4.60 GPA
Taylor Pitz-Laguna Beach High
Dale Timm-Torrey Pines High

4.54 GPA
Theo Kirkham-Lewitt-Crossroads School
4.3 GPA
Tad McCardell-Canyon Crest Academy
4.2 GPA
Josh Morse-Point Loma High
4.17 GPA

Cody Sherman-Point Loma High
4.0 GPA
Charles Akao-Kealakehe Intermediate
Rikki Alley-CSULB
Colin Andersen-UCSB
Lucas Angulo-Island School
Brennan Aubol-Diegueno Middle School
Max Baumann-Santa Barbara City College
Dryden Brown-Santa Barbara Jr. High
Michael Ciaramella-Middle Township High
Catherine Clark-El Camino High
Corey Colapinto-Shorecliffs Middle School
Parker Davies-Santa Barbara City College
Laurent Domaingue-UCF
Brendan Donovan-Earl Warren Middle School
Spencer Farrar-Switched-On Schoolhouse
Jaric Fink-Osceola Magnet School
Travis Gleason-UCF
Luke Gordon-Lowcountry Preparatory School
Tobie Grierson-Thurston Middle School
Frankie Harrer-Malibu High
Rachel Harris-UCSB
Corey Howell-Johnson Middle School
Avalon Johnson-Classical Academy
Heather Jordan- Mira Costa College
Blaine Lewis-CSULB
Kylie Loveland-Aviara Oaks Middle School
Bryn Lutz-Carlsbad High
Luke Marks-Gemini Elementry School
Robert Merrell-The Jubilee Academy
Kyle Ng-Kona Christian Academy
Zane Norman-San Dieguito Academy
Matt Passaquindici- Huntington Beach High
Nick Rupp-West Christian Academy
Stephanie Schechter-Canyon Crest Academy
Koa Smith-Clonlara School
Maluhia Stark-Kinimaka-Kapaa Middle School
Harley Taich-Audeo Charter School
Tristian Thompson-Heritage Academy
Daniel Tieman-Shorecliffs Middle School
Jack Umbel-New Covenant Christian School
Jasset Umbel-New Covenant Christian School
Colt Ward-Shorecliffs Middle School
Tatiana Weston-Webb-Hawaii Technology Academy
Cody Young-Doris Todd Memorial Christian School
Kelly Zaun-Mira Costa High

3.9 GPA
John Eckenroth-CSUSM
Ian Gentil-Christa McAuliffe Academy
Chris Finck-Palisades Charter
Bree Kleintop-University of Nebraska
Mackenzie Lewis-FAU
Thelen McKinna-Worrell-Malibu Center for Independent Study
Nage Melamed-Bridgeway Academy
Christopher O’Donnell-Lincoln Park Academy
Nikki Viesins-Classical Conversations Challenge

3.8 GPA
Kealoha Betanzos-Point Loma High
Spencer Bridges-Oak Knoll School of the Holy Child
Luke Davis-Pacific Coast High
Willie Eagleton-Santa Cruz High
Kiana Fores-Kapaa High
Henry Fong-UCF
John Funnell-USC
Kaleigh Gilchrist-Newport Harbor High
Adam Hanson-Diocese of San Diego
Dan House- Mira Costa College
Andrew Jacobson-Malibu High Independent Study
Eddie Lester-CSULB
Amy Nicholl-UCF
Stevie Pittman-Bridgeway Academy
Alexis Ross-Arroyo Grande High
Romy Sidelski-UNCW
Ian Simmons-San Clemente High
Keith Soergel-FAU
Mike Van Mierlo-Saddleback
Scott Weinhardt-Dana Hills High

3.7 GPA
Tony Bartovich- Huntington Beach High
Noah Connor-Carolina Beach Elementary
Erika Cook-Saddleback
Liza Dean-UNCW
Davis Freud-Ethel Dwyer Middle School
Knox Harris-West Christian Academy
Garrett James-CSUSM
Tyler Killeen-Stanford Middle School
Skip McCullough-Muirlands Middle School
Shane Orr-Santa Barbara City College
Dane Petersen-Tesoro High
David Price-Saddleback
Noah Schweizer-New Smyrna Beach Middle School

3.6 GPA
Evan Barton-Bridgeway Academy
Court Carroll-Mira Costa College
Taylor Clark-Julian Charter School
Conner Coffin-Santa Barbara City College
Camille Collett-UCSB
Maia Colyar-UCSB
Alex Ganguli-Mira Costa College
Lipoa Kahaleuahi-UCSB
Kyle McGeary-Huntington Beach High
Shane Nelson- Huntington Beach High
Christian Saenz- Huntington Beach High
Milby Shannon-UCSB
Kyle Timm-Torrey Pines High
Sam Zaiser-La Costa Canyon High

3.5 GPA
John Denis-Middle Township Middle School
Elijah Donovan-Elite Element Academy
Travis Eubanks-UCF
Hailey Gill-USC
Mark Lathrum-USC
Katelyn Norcross- Mira Costa College
Sam Orozco-Dana Hills High
PJ Raia-Laurel Springs
Chantae Reden-USC
Austin Rowe-San Dieguito Academy
Nick Rowe-San Dieguito Academy
Kylen Yamakawa-‘Iolani School

What's your take on this?
Post your thoughts: SV Forum

New Survey: Map Surfing’s future 

More USA/Cen Amer. surfing news available here
Check the latest West Coast Surf Reports and Forecasts

New! B2B News ASBE-Surf   |  Receive News-Alerts

Janice Aragon

NSSA Contests - Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter