Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



ASP sanction allows world champs in club comps

Joel Parkinson © Surfing Australia




Be the Influence Australian Boardriders Battle

Australian Boardriders Battle
Cronulla, NSW Australia
25 - 26 January, 2014

It's an Aussie Thing: Tour elite hit the club comps

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 21 January, 2014 - Coolangatta - World champions Joel Parkinson and Stephanie Gilmore lead a stellar line-up of current stars and past greats contesting this weekend’s (25-26 January), two-day final of the Be the Influence Australian Boardriders Battle in Cronulla. The event is sanctioned by the Association of Surfing Professional (ASP), which allows Australian ASP World Championship Tour surfers the opportunity to represent their local boardriders and compete with their club mates.

The event is the biggest grassroots, boardriders event series in Australian surfing history with more than $100,000 in prize money. It involved Australia’s best boardriders clubs in seven State qualifying rounds and culminates in a two-day, National Final for 16 clubs at North Cronulla this weekend.

Each club team of seven will include two juniors (1 male and 1 female), four Open age surfers (3 male and 1 female) and one over 35 surfer (male or female). An exciting event format will see club teams battle it out in Pairs competition, five-person Teams competition and a Skins competition.  The National Final will include a lucrative, club-take-all Skins format across 10 heats with a $1000 jackpot in each heat.

The clubs to contest the final are:

NEW SOUTH WALES: Merewether Surfboard Club, Avoca Boardriders, Werri Beach Boardriders, Elouera Boardriders, North Narrabeen Boardriders, Queenscliff Boardriders, Cronulla Sharks Boardriders.
QUEENSLAND: Snapper Rocks Surfriders, Kirra Surfriders, D-Bah Boardriders
VICTORIA: Torquay Boardriders, 13th Beach Boardriders
WESTERN AUSTRALIA:  Yallingup Boardriders, Margaret River Boardriders
SOUTH AUSTRALIA: Seaford Boardriders
TASMANIA: South Arm Boardriders

Snapper Rocks Surfriders boast an all-star line-up including five-time ASP World Champion Stephanie Gilmore, 2012 ASP World Champion Joel Parkinson and ASP World Tour competitor Mitch Crews. The team is rounded out by leading juniors Holly-Sue Coffey and Quinn Bruce, former pro tour veteran Jay Phillips and leading Pro Junior Mitch Parkinson.

Other ASP World Tour surfers competing this weekend include Dion Atkinson (Seaford), Taj Burrow (Yallingup), Matt Wilkinson (Avoca) and Laura Enever (North Narrabeen).

North Narrabeen is also bursting with top professional contenders alongside Enever including Davey Cathels, Cooper Chapman and Nathan Hedge.

Former ASP World Tour competitors taking part include Hedge, Jake Paterson (Yallingup), Dave Macaulay (Margaret River), Nathan Webster (North Narrabeen), Luke Egan (Merewether), 1999 ASP World Champion Mark Occhilupo (Cronulla) and seven-time ASP World Champion Layne Beachley (Queenscliff).

Forecasts for this weekend suggest a small NE swell will swing to a building S swell during the day to 2-3ft by the afternoon. The wind is likely to swing S and strengthen out of the SSE during the afternoon. The 2-3ft swell is expected to remain on Sunday with moderate S to SE winds

Tim Brimblecombe

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter