Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Aussie wins SAS Ripcurl Cornish & Open surfing title

Derek Bassed 2002 event champion

Aussie takes SAS Ripcurl Cornish & Open Surfing Title.

The SAS Ripcurl Cornish & Open surfing championships went ahead at the weekend despite not being able to run on the first day of the event due to huge seas and stormy conditions. Contest organiser’s were forced to cancel proceedings on Friday after spending the whole morning in liason with lifeguards about when it would be safe to start running the cadets, Junior and under 12 divisions of this - the UK’s longest running surfing contest.

With a record number of entries for this years event, SAS were please to be able to run the whole contest - with the exception of the under 12’s - over the rest of the weekend with some standout performances in the open, women’s, and cadets division’s.

The main event was finally won by travelling Australian surfer - Derek Bassed who defeated Ollie Adams from New Zealand and Greg Owen and Mark Vaughn from Wales to walk away with £250.00 and a bag-full of goodies from contest sponsors RIPCURL.

James Hendy from Surfers Against Sewage said today: “We are really pleased that the event managed to go ahead as planned and were stoked that we got some waves as we haven’t had any good surf in the last 2 months! This year we’ve held this grass-roots contest in the cleanest watrer ever since South West Water have included secondary treatment to the sewage works at Camborne Redruth. Weather conditions weren’t looking too good for the weekend but after a rough start we saw some top surfing action from some of the best surfers in the country as well as attracting some travelling surfers from overseas”.

Thanks to contest sponsors: Ripcurl, The Blue Bar and Smirnoff Ice for helping us make this event possible. Thanks also to Banta sunscreen for helping us highlight the importance of sun protection, even though the sun was rarely seen all weekend.

Check the SAS website for all the action.

Please see list of finalists attached below:


1st: Derek bassed

2nd: Greg Owen

3rd: Ollie Adams

4th: Mark Vaughn


1st: Sam Bleakley

2nd:Lee Ryan

3rd:Chris Thomson

4th:Adrian Howell


1st: Sarah Bentley

2nd:Tracey Boxall

3rd: Elouise Taylor

4th: Hannabeth Luke


1st: Jed Stone

2nd: Daz Wright

3rd: Rich Voisin

4th: Rodney Peasley


1st: Andrew Griffin

2nd:Ollie Adams

3rd:Adam Thornton

4th:Andrew Douglas


1st:Tom Butler

2nd:Reuben Ash

3rd:Jayce Robinson

4th:Marcus Lascelles


1st: Damian Prisk

2nd: Cheech Fleck

3rd: Lee Stephen

4th: Danny Catten

Jimmy Mavor Cup (given to highest placed local surfers): Hannabeth Luke and Marcus Lascelles.

Mike Green memorial trophey (best local bodyboarder): Damian Prisk.

Check the latest Europe Surf Reports and Forcasts

More European surfing news available here

Press release

Contests - Surfersvillage

- - - Announcements - - -
Big Events & Little Events at the WorldwideContests Register

European Camping-Car & Motorhome rentals – info + details



Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter