Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Aussie Logger Titles wrap in perfection at Coffs

Open champ Harley Ingleby © Smith/SNSW
Open champ Harley Ingleby © Smith/SNSW




2014 Australian Surf Festival

Australian Loggers Titles
Sawtell Beach, Coffs Harbour
1 - 18  August, 2014 

New Open Loggers Champion is Harley Ingleby

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 8 August, 2014 - Coffs Harbour: The Australian Logger Titles wrapped up today at the 2014 Australian Surf Festival with the crowning of three new Australian champions. Competitors were greeted by picturesque two-to-three foot waves that rolled 300-meters down the entire length of Arrawarra Headland.

Former World Longboard Champion and local favourite Harley Ingleby (Emerald Beach, NSW) managed to overcome a blistering field in the Open Loggers final to claim the title on home turf. The talented natural-footer linked together a chain of traditional manoeuvres to post a two-wave heat total of 17.25 (out of a possible 20 points) narrowly beating Ruben Roxburgh (Evans Head, NSW) by 0.25 points.

2013 Australian Logger Champion Clinton Guest (Burleigh Waters, Qld) managed to perform a variety of massive turns on lengthy righthanders, but had to settle for third place behind Roxburgh and Ingleby, while Ben Considine (Barwon Heads, Vic) took fourth position.

“This is the first time I’ve been able to have a crack at an Aussie Title on my home soil, so I’m stoked,” said Ingleby. “I don’t get a chance to surf Arrawarra that much, but growing up I surfed countless heats here with the Woolgoolga Longboard Club, so it feels great to come back here for the Aussie Titles. The crew I shared the final with were all unreal guys and I actually think that it’s the best thing about longboarding, everyone seems to get along really well.”

Lee Considine © Smith/SNSW

Lee Considine (Barwon Heads, Vic) managed to claim Victoria’s first 2014 Australian title taking out the Over-40 Loggers. The Victorian managed to perform a series of nose-rides and cutbacks to lock in a heat total of 16.50 and nab the victory ahead of Mark McNamara (Currumbin Waters, Qld), Gary Burden (Suffolk Park, NSW) and Richard Smith (Sawtell, NSW) who finished in second, third and fourth respectively.

“I’m so stoked, I never thought I’d win an Aussie Title,” said Considine. “I started a bit slow in this event, but these waves allowed me to perform some drop-knee cutbacks, so I managed to get a bit of mojo going thankfully. Having my young bloke [Ben Considine] in the Open and Junior final inspired me to surf better in the Over-40 final. I’m just stoked to be here with him.”

Ben Considine (Barwon Heads, Vic) made Victoria proud when he took out the Junior Loggers final. Ben posted two excellent scores to take the win ahead of Jaya Guy (Valla Beach, NSW), Joel Skinner (Yamba Waters, NSW) and Jack Medland (Marmion, WA) who took second, third and fourth respectively.

The Australian Loggers Titles saw some of Australia's best amateur loggers rewinding the clock to the 1960s as they traded off a variety of traditional and stylish manoeuvres. The Logger division was introduced at last year’s titles and was one of the most popular events.

Ben Considine © Smith/SNSW

The Australian Surf Festival at Coffs Harbour is set to attract more than 500 surfers from around the country, over the 18-day event period. A hotline – 0458 247 212 – is operating for the festival which will feature a recorded message updated at 6:45am each morning with the confirmed daily schedule and contest venue.

Coffs Harbour is home to a number of great beach break options that work in a variety of wind and swell conditions. The main base for the event will be Park Beach which is located north east of the Coffs Harbour CBD. The event is fully mobile in the Coffs Harbour region with numerous beach break options which include Park Beach, Macauley’s Beach, Diggers Beach, Jetty Beach, Gallows, Arrawarra Beach, Mulloway Beach, Woolgoolga Beach, Emerald Beach and Sapphire Beach.

The 2014 Australian Surf Festival is proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW. The event is also proudly supported by Coffs Harbour City Council, Coffs Coast Tourism, Wahu, The Hoey Moey, Nikon, Toyota, Pacific Longboarder, FCS, Australian Institute of Sport, Surfing NSW and Surfing Australia.

Open Loggers
1 – Harley Ingleby (Emerald Beach, NSW)
2 – Ruben Roxburgh (Evans Head, NSW)
3 – Clinton Guest (Burleigh Waters, Qld)
4 – Ben Considine (Barwon Heads, Vic)

Over-40 Loggers
1 – Lee Considine (Barwon Heads, Vic)
2 – Mark McNamara (Currumbin Waters, Qld)
3 – Gary Burden (Suffolk Park, NSW)
4 – Richard Smith (Sawtell, NSW)

Junior Loggers
1 – Ben Considine (Barwon Heads, Vic)
2 – Jaya Guy (Valla Beach, NSW)
3 – Joel Skinner (Yamba Waters, NSW)
4 – Jack Medland (Marmion, WA)

1 August – Australian Surf Festival Opening Ceremony
2-6 August – Australian Surfmasters Titles
2-3 August – Australian Single Fin Titles
6-14 August – Australian Longboard Titles
7-10 August – Australian Logger Titles
14-18 August – Wahu Australian Bodyboard Titles

Ethan Smith

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter