Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Australian Surf Festival continues in NSW

Darren O'Rafferty Open Men's Champ © Nikon/Smith/NSW

Australian Surf Festival

Surfmasters Titles
North Haven, New South Whales, Australia
10 - 23 August

Surfmasters Titles crowned first round of champs

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 22 August, 2013 : - - The 2013 Surfmasters Titles crowned its first round of champions today as the thirteenth day of the Australian Surf Festival recommenced in reeling three-foot peaks at North Haven.

Following a batch of highly contested Open Men semi-finals, local and former World Championship Tour surfer Darren O’Rafferty, NSW State Junior Champ Monty Tait, local standout Mitch Van Der Veer and Queenslander Nick Callister tore into a variety of long-running waves over the course of a 30-minute final.

O’Rafferty got off to an early start locking in an 8.00 in the first five minutes and proceeded to back it up with a 7.00. O’Rafferty’s closest rival Monty Tait got himself within striking distance locking in a 6.00 and a 8.35, however O’Rafferty put the final nail in the coffin when he nabbed himself a 9.50.

Monty Tait finished the heat in second, Mitch Van Der Veer took third and Nick Callister finished in fourth. Despite competing in the Australian Surf Festival for several years, this is O’Raffertys first Australian Title.

“I’m so happy to have got an Aussie Title. It’s something I’ll cherish forever," said O’Rafferty. “Those final ten minutes were really nerve-wracking. Monty had me really nervous, I didn’t want him to catch another wave after seeing him get that 8.35, I knew if he caught a wave he could destroy it. I had some of my best mates down here watching, so to get the win at home with my friends here watching is so special. I’m really stoked.”

NSW surfers Holly Wawn, Audrey Styman-Lane and Paris Whittaker joined Queensland’s Lucy Callister in the final of the Open Women. After claiming yesterday’s Nikon Wave of the Day award, Styman-Lane kept her momentum locking in a 7.25 and an 8.00 ride, which consequently gave her a convincing lead going into the final stretch of the heat.

Lucy Callister fought a valiant battle, but ultimately fell short and had to settle for the runner up spot. Holly Wawn finished in third, while Paris Whittaker finished in fourth.

“I’m so stoked. All I wanted to do was win this year,” said Styman-Lane. “I’ve been training a lot for the event with Gary Cruickshank at the HPC [Hurley Surfing Australia High Performance Centre]. I was actually supposed to go to France for the WQS events, but it fell through, so it became my goal to do well in this comp. My sister and I have the Dominelli Women’s Classic and the Maxum Pro Junior next in Cronulla, so hopefully I can keep the roll going.”

The Over-35 Men final saw Scott Schindler, Paul Parkes, Christian Cook and Trevor Gleave duke it out in draining low-tide peaks. Over the course of the 30-minute final, all surfers patiently traded off fast running rights in an attempt to claim victory. Despite Christian Cook putting on an impressive display of backhand surfing, Paul Parkes proved to be too strong in the end when he locked in an 8.35 and an 8.00.

“The event was all about having fun for me,” said Parkes. “I just wanted to treat it like I was having a normal surf. At the end of the heat, I decided to play a tactical game and wait it out for a good one and try and get an eight or nine. Luckily one came to me. All the guys in the heat waited patiently and didn’t hassle at all. I think we’re all past that stage where we’re trying to psych each other out for the win.”

The 2013 Australian Surf Festival will wrap up tomorrow with all remaining heats and finals.

All heat results, event highlight clips, images and news is available at

The main base for the Australian Surf Festival will be Town Beach, which is located in the heart of Port Macquarie, however the event is mobile with numerous beach break options available between Port Macquarie and North Haven (20 minutes drive south of Port Macquarie CBD) including Flynns Beach, Lighthouse Beach, Rainbow Beach at Bonny Hills and Grants Beach at North Haven.

This year's event will feature a busy schedule out of the water with live music and surf education courses, including Surfing NSW's free CPR and board rescue course, Surfers Rescue 24/7. Town Green Inn is the official headquarters for all functions and courses.

The Australian Surf Festival is a key regional event on the NSW Events Calendar, and is supported by the NSW Government's tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW.

The Australian Surf Festival is proudly supported by the NSW Government, Destination NSW, Port Macquarie Tourism, Port Macquarie Hastings Council, Be the Influence, Harley-Davidson Australia, Town Green Inn, Nikon, Suncorp, Australian Sports Commission, Coastalwatch, NBN, Port Macquarie News, 2MC, Star FM, Surfing World Magazine and Pacific Longboarder Magazine.

Open Men

1 – Darren O’Rafferty (Bonny Hills – NSW)
2 – Monty Tait (Maroubra – NSW)
3 – Mitch Van Der Veer (Port Macquarie – NSW)
4 – Nick Callister (Burleigh – Qld)

Open Women

1 – Audrey Styman-Lane (Bilambil Heights – NSW)
2 – Lucy Callister (Noosa – Qld)
3 – Holly Wawn (Newport – NSW)
4 – Paris Whittaker (Caringbah – NSW)

Over-35 Men

1 – Paul Parkes (Merewether – NSW)
2 – Christian Cook (Dee Why – NSW)
3 – Scott Schindler (Sawtell – NSW)
4 – Trevor Gleave (Palm Beach – Qld)

2013 Australian Surf Festival Schedule

10-18 August – Australian Longboard Titles
16-18 August – Australian Logger Titles
16-18 August – Australian Longboard Titles – Under 18 Boys and Girls
19-23 August – Australian Surfmasters Titles
21-23 August – Australian Single Fin Titles

Source: Surfing NSW

Author: Ethan Smith

Tags: Surfing NSW, Australian Surf Festival

Festivals: Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter