Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Australian Surf Festival crowns 13 champions

Mark Macnamara © Renee Miller / Surfing Australia

2012 Australian Surf Festival

Surfing Australia
Port MacQuarie, New South Wales
11 - 25 August 2012

Live Coverage | Results/Photos/Videos etc

William Crowe, Kirra Perry, Debbie Alan, Mark Macnamara others earn crowns

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 17 August, 2012 : - - Hosting week one of the Australian Surf Festival supported by Essential Energy, Port Macquarie once again turned on the waves for finals day. Wrapping up a week of competition, Australia’s best Longboarders relished in the beautiful beaches in an effort to claim one of the 13 Australian Titles on offer.

All eyes were on the juniors, local Danny Schouten (Bonny Hills, NSW), William Crowe (Collaroy, NSW), Myles Fletcher (Ocean Grove, VIC) and current Australian junior short board champion, Eli Steele got busy in the boys final.

Leaving no wave un ridden, Steele and Schouten racked up their wave count with nose rides and maneuvers that impressed spectators. Injecting the short board style with classic Longboarding is here to stay and William Crowe demonstrated the combination surfing of a champion as he won the Junior Boys final.

Starting early with a 6.75 and quickly backing it up with a 6.80, Crowe seemed to have it in the bag. Steele wasn’t letting it go easily and a 7.00 followed by a strong 6.25 pushed him close but just fell short, giving him second place behind Crowe with Fletcher in third and Schouten in 4th.

Young and old excelled, the newly added over 65’s division brought the old sea dogs to the surface. Danny Bond took the prestigious title with Neville Smith (Coolangatta, QLD) in second, Phil Nicol (North Curl Curl, (NSW) third and 83 year old Barry ‘Magoo’ McGuigan (Norah Head, NSW) fourth.

The day wasn’t just about the individual surfers, the TEAMS CHALLENGE brought all states together in a tag team format. Defending their title with a solid track record, the Queenslanders were victorious yet again, team manager Dave Lamin was happy with the teams performance over the week long event.


Debbie Alan © Renee Miller / Surfing Australia

“We had a bit of a strategy in place from the get go, we were obviously conscious of time and our order of surfers in the water and it worked well for us. Jackson won the opens and Eli did really well in the juniors, it’s been a good year for the Queenslanders”, said Lamin who accepted the VB Slab of the day for the Queensland team.

New South Wales took home a number of titles today; Junior women, (Kirra Perry, Scotts Head), over 35 women, (Debbie Alan, Canton Beach), over 55 men, (Rick Chalmers, Pottsville Beach), over 60 men, (Alan Atkins, Suffolk Park) and Danny Bond (Blue Bay), took the over 65 mens crown.

The Australian Surf Festival supported by Essential Energy, is half way through it’s mammoth two week event. Sunday 19th August will see the beginning of the Stand Up Paddleboard titles and next week Surfmasters, Single Fin and Alaia divisions will get underway.

A hotline will be operating which will feature a recorded message updated at 7:00am each morning with the confirmed daily schedule and contest venue, please call 0458 247 212. The Australian Surf Festival event website is now LIVE at and during the event will feature live scores, heat by heat results, photo gallery and event news.

This year’s event will also feature a busy schedule off the water with live music and surf education courses. Town Green Inn will become the headquarters for all the land-based action providing competitors and spectators an opportunity to relax when competition is over for the day. A series of coaching courses will be available for surfing, SUP and judging.

The Australian Surf Festival is proudly supported by Essential Energy, NSW Government, Destination NSW, Port Macquarie Tourism, Port Macquarie Hastings Council, Harley-Davidson Australia, Town Green Inn, Nikon, Suncorp, VB, Australian Sports Commission, Coastalwatch, NBN, Port Macquarie News, 2MC, Star FM, Surfing World Magazine, Pacific Longboarder Magazine.

The Australian Surf Festival is a key regional event on the NSW Events Calendar, and is supported by the NSW Government, through Destination NSW. HIT the RESULTS TAB at for all the heat scores, or watch it all LIVE



Check the Live Coverage 

1st: William Crowe (Collaroy, NSW)
2nd: Eli Steele (Moffat Beach, QLD)
3rd: Myles Fletcher (Ocean Grove, VIC)
4th: Danny Schouten (Bonny Hills, NSW)
1st: Kirra Perry (Scotts Head, NSW)
2nd: Roisin Carolan (Binna Burra, NSW)
3rd: Lucy Walsh (Fitzroy, VIC)
4th Madi Daugaard (Green Point, NSW)
5th: Maddie Watson-Brown (Moffat Beach, QLD)
1st: Debbie Alan (Canton Beach, NSW)
2nd: Samantha Vanderford (Scarborough, WA)
3rd: Leanne Gilkes (Buderim, QLD)
4th: Jo Goldfinch (TAS)
1st: Chris Meier (Barwon Heads, VIC)
2nd: Ron Schneider (Sawtell, NSW)
3rd: John Skinner (Mt Warrigal, NSW)
4th: Ross Murphy (St Georges Basin, NSW)
1st: Rick Chalmers (Pottsville Beach, NSW)
2nd: Peter Becker (Palmvale, NSW)
3rd: Garry Taylor (Bonny Hills, NSW)
4th: Bill Gibson (Margaret River, WA)
1st: Alan Atkins (Suffolk Park, NSW)
2nd: Peter Hudson (Port Macquarie, NSW)
3rd: Nigel Coote (Yallingup, WA)
4th: Neville Smith (Coolangatta, QLD)
1st: Danny Bond (Blue Bay, NSW)
2nd: Neville Smith (Coolangatta, QLD)
3rd: Phil Nicol (North Curl Curl, (NSW)
4th: Barry McGuigan (Norah Head, NSW)
Mark Macnamara (Currumbin), Kathryn Hughes (Caloundra), Jackson Close (Coolangatta), Damian Coulter (Mountain Creek)

Previous reports:
# 1 : Australian Surf Festival kicks off in wild, windy surf
# 2 : Eight-foot swell lights up Australian Surf Festival
# 3 : Finalists decided for the Australian Surf Festival

# 4 : Georgia Young & Jackson Close claim Aussie titles

Source: Surfing Australia

Author: Renee Miller / Surfing NSW

Tags: Australian Surf Festival, Surfing Australia, Port MacQuarie,

Events: Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter