Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Australian Surfing Awards name year's best photos, more

This Stuart Gibson photograph is up for an award



Surfing Awards

Nikon photo awards run alongside naming of best surfers

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 10 February, 2014 - The Australian Surfing Awards will feature the Nikon Surf Photo of the Year and Nikon Surf Movie of the Year, which will showcase the finest work taken by Australia’s best surf photographers and filmmakers during the past 12 months.

Other awards to be presented on the night include the Male Surfer of the Year, the Female Surfer of the Year, Rising Star Award, Waterman of the Year, ASB Surfing Spirit Award, Peter Troy Lifestyle Award, Surf Culture Award and the Simon Anderson Club Award.

The judging panel included 13 members of the surfing community including competitor, industry and media representatives. The inaugural winner of the Original Source Intense Surf Challenge will also be announced.

Australian Surfing Awards - Finalists

Male Surfer of the Year: Joel Parkinson, Julian Wilson, Mick Fanning

Female Surfer of the Year: Sally Fitzgibbons, Stephanie Gilmore, Tyler Wright

Rising Star Award: Jacob Willcox, Nikki van Dijk, Matt Banting

Waterman of the Year Award: Jeff ‘Camel’ Goulden, Mark Mathews, Tony ‘Doris’ Eltherington

Australian Surf Business Surfing Spirit Award: National Surfing Reserves, Surfers Against Suicide, Surfing Victoria Indigenous Surfing Program

Peter Troy Lifestyle Award: Bruce Channon, Phil Jarratt, Tony ‘Doris’ Eltherington

Surf Culture Award: Australia’s Century of Surf by Tim Baker, Byron Bay Surf Festival, TC by Tom Carroll and Nick Carroll

Simon Anderson Club Award: Kirra Surfriders Club, Merewether Surfboard Club, Noosa Malibu Club

Nikon Surf Movie of the Year: Drift, Missing, Slow Dance

Nikon Surf Photo of the Year: Top 20 finalists can be viewed here 

The event goes off on Thursday February 13.

The Australian Surfing Awards incorporating the Hall of Fame is proudly supported by the NSW Government, through Destination NSW, and is a key event on the NSW Events Calendar.

The Australian Surfing Awards is also supported by the Australian Sports Commission, Nikon, Destination NSW, Original Source, Travelsim, Australasian Surf Business Magazine and the Federal Gove

Tim Brimblecombe

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter