Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Australian Surfing Hall of Fame welcomes Ted Spencer

Ted Spencer © John Witzig



Surf History

Ted's powerful, innovative surfing and board design historic

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 10 February, 2015 - Surfing pioneer Ted Spencer will be inducted as the 37th member of the Australian Surfing Hall of Fame in Sydney on Thursday. His induction is part of the 2015 Australian Surfing Awards to be held in Manly.

Ted Spencer was 19 when he won his first Bell at Bells Beach in 1968 from Keith Paul and Midget Farrelly. He won again the following year, this time from Frank Latta and Nat Young, with Peter Drouyn fourth, Midget fifth and Wayne Lynch sixth.

In the opinion of the most influential surfers of the time, Ted’s contribution in terms of creative, powerful and innovative surfing and surfboard design has never been given due recognition. A true leader and path-setter, he chose to step away from the spotlight on his own terms and remains one of surfing’s most elusive and enigmatic figures.
Other awards to be presented on the night include the Male Surfer of the Year, the Female Surfer of the Year, Rising Star Award, Waterman of the Year, ASB Surfing Spirit Award, Peter Troy Lifestyle Award, Surf Culture Award and the Simon Anderson Club Award.

Operated with the support of Destination NSW, the NSW Government’s Tourism and major events agency, The Australian Surfing Awards is renowned for recognising the best in surfing talent.

The Awards will also feature the Nikon Surf Photo of the Year and Nikon Surf Movie of the Year, which will showcase the finest work taken by Australia’s best surf photographers and filmmakers during the past 12 months.

The judging panel included 11 members of the surfing community including competitor, industry and media representatives.

Australian Surfing Awards - Finalists

Male Surfer of the Year: Harley Ingleby, Julian Wilson, Mick Fanning

Female Surfer of the Year: Sally Fitzgibbons, Stephanie Gilmore, Tyler Wright

Rising Star Award: Matt Banting, Reef Heazlewood, Sophie McCulloch

Waterman of the Year Award: Mark Mathews, Jamie Mitchell, Ryan Hipwood

Australian Surf Business Surfing Spirit Award: Magoo Charity Classic, OneWave, Surfrider Foundation Australia

Peter Troy Lifestyle Award: Barry ‘Magoo’ McGuigan, Dick Hoole, Jack McCoy

Surf Culture Award: Byron Bay Surf Festival, Surfest Newcastle, Surf World Gold Coast

Simon Anderson Club Award: D-Bah Boardriders Club, Merewether Surfboard Club, Snapper Rocks Surfriders Club

Nikon Surf Movie of the Year: Spirit of Akasha, Surfing Queensland 50th Year Documentary, Thundercloud

The Australian Surfing Awards is also supported by the Australian Institute of Sport, Nikon, Toyota, Original Source, Australasian Surf Business Magazine, OnStone, Corona and Andrew Peace Wines.

Ted Spencer, Australia Surfing Hall of Fame, Sydney, Australian Surfing Awards
Tim Brimblecombe

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter