Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Bell takes McTavish Pro at Noosa Festival of Surfing

The Noosa Festival of Surfing 2001 was the best yet with waves ranging between one to four feet at First Point throughout the week. Festival director Phil Jarratt said he was delighted that "Huey" the surf god had come up with the goods. Conditions were at their best for the pro trials in both the McTavish Pro and Golden Breed Noserider, with clean three to four foot waves. The swell dropped as the week progressed but held just long enough to conclude the event.

Ian Bell from NSW took out the McTavish Pro in an all-Australian final. Jye Byrnes was the lone Aussie in the Golden Breed Noserider final. Californian Kevin Connelly clocked more than 52 seconds total on the nose of his three best waves, edging out defending champion Joel Tudor.

McTAVISH PRO 1st Ian Bell, NSW; 2nd Jason Blewitt, QLD; 3rd Seb Wilson, QLD; 4th Craig Harvey, QLD; 5th Erin Nicholls, QLD; 5th Wayne Deane, QLD; 7th Jye Byrnes, NSW; 7th Dave Simons, NSW; 9th Matt Kay, NSW; 9th Kevin Connelly, CAL; 9th Ray Gleave, NSW; 9th Brett White, QLD; 13th Lucas Proudfoot, NSW; 13th Jai Lee, QLD; 13th Kekoa Uemura, HAW; 13th Dane Wilson, NSW

GOLDEN BREED NOSERIDER 1st Kevin Connelly, CAL 52.70 sec; 2nd Joel Tudor, CAL 46.91 sec; 3rd Jye Byrnes, NSW 30.69 sec; 4th Cody Simpkins, CAL 23.41 sec; 5th Steven Slater, CAL; 5th Jai Lee, QLD; 7th Ian Bell, NSW; 7th Jason Blewitt, QLD

NOOSA LONGBOARDS WOMENS PRO 1st Jenny McCarthy, NSW; 2nd Deanne Ashmore, QLD; 3rd Lisa Nicholson, NSW; 4th Kassia Meador, CAL; 5th Melissa Combo, NSW; 5th Amy Clarke, NSW; 7th Nanci Emerson, HAW; 7th Belen Connelly, CAL; 9th Julie Cox, CAL; 9th Belinda Baggs, NSW; 9th Vanessa Firkin, QLD; 9th Michelle Kent, QLD; 13th Colleen Deane, QLD; 13th Tiare Thomas, HAW; 13th Kelly Sloane, CAL; 13th Angelique Choin, FRA

SURFTECH ONE DESIGN 1st Josh Baxter, CAL; 2nd Dave Simons, NSW; 3rd Wayne Deane, QLD; 4th Steven Slater, CAL; 5th Joel Tudor, CAL; 5th Darren Ledingham, CAL; 7th Tom Carroll, NSW; 7th Dane Peterson,

CAL CHAMPION OF CHAMPIONS 1st Joel Tudor, CAL; 2nd Beau Young, NSW; 3rd Wayne Deane, QLD; 4th Tom Carroll, NSW; 5th Mark Richards, NSW; 6th Sam Cornish, NSW; 7th Stewart Entwhistle, NSW

McTAVISH 66 1st Wayne & Colleen Deane, QLD; 2nd Nat & Beau Young, NSW

Toes On The Nose
Report / Contests / surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter