Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Shane Sykes & Gina Smith top Junior seeds for JBay event

Slade Prestwich © WSL / Cestari



Billabong Junior Series
Presented by BOS

WSL JQS1000 Men's & Women's event
Magnatubes, Jeffreys Bay South Africa
July 13- 17, 2015

SHANE SYKES & GINA SMITH TOP SEEDS for next event in Jeffreys Bay

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 12 July, 2015 -  Jeffreys Bay – The results of the 2014 / 15 Billabong Junior Series presented by BOS will decide the 2015 WSL Africa Pro Junior men’s and women’s champions while the final rankings will be used to determine the surfers who will represent the region at the WSL Junior Championships next January.  

The opening event in the series was completed at Seal Point in October 2014 and the first of two events in 2015 kicks off at Magnatubes in Jeffreys Bay from Monday to Friday, 13 - 17 July. The series of WSL JQS 1,000 rated events will conclude at Seal Point at the end of September. 

Shane Sykes from Salt Rock, winner of the 2014 Men’s event, is the top seed for the Jeffreys Bay event and will need to produce his best performance to maintain his rankings lead in a world class lineup of South African and international surfers aged 20-and-under.
Sykes will be up against compatriots Slade Prestwich (Scottburgh), winner of the JBU Supertrials and currently competing in the J-Bay Open CT event; Jeffreys Bay local Dylan Lightfoot, an established QS campaigner who won the coveted wildcard in the 2014 J-Bay Open, and a host of other top competitors including SA junior champions Matt McGillivray (Jeffreys Bay), Adin Masencamp (Strand) and Michael Monk (East London) in the five-day contest.
The strong international challenge comes from Ethan Ewing (AUS), winner of the Carve Pro Junior in Sydney in January; Seth Moniz (HAW), who clinched the Sunset Beach Pro Junior title in Hawaii earlier this year; Miguel Blanco (PRT), ranked third among the WSL Europe juniors, and half a dozen other highly rated competitors from Australia, the USA and Hawaii.
Jeffreys Bay’s Gina Smith heads the all South African lineup in the Women’s event. Smith, who represented the Africa region in the WSL Junior Championships in Portugal last year, faces tough opposition from second seed Teal Hogg (Umhlanga), winner of the SA U17 title at the Lower Point in Jeffreys Bay last year.
SA national team member Chanelle Botha (Warner Beach) and Jade Mets (Salt Rock) round out the top four while Nicole Pallet (Durban), former SA junior champ Chrystal Hulett (St Francis Bay) and Natasha van Greunen (Cape Town) will also be contenders for a podium finish in the event.
With the reeling right-handers at Magnatubes being used as a contest venue for the first time, exceptionally talented fields of competitors and five days in which to choose the best conditions for the three days of competition required to produce the champions, next week’s Billabong Junior Series event is set to deliver a feast of spectacular surfing.
“Our thanks to Billabong and BOS for their continued involvement in Pro Junior surfing in the Africa region,” said Colin Fitch, Operations Manager for WSL Africa. “You have been and continue to be the foundation for the future South Africa stars on the World Surf League.”
The Billabong Junior Series, which also features Surfing South Africa (SSA) Pro Surf Tour (PST) rated events for boys in Under 12 and boys and girls in U14 and U16 age categories, is the world’s most prestigious and longest-running junior surfing series.
Started in 1997, the series has hosted 51 individual events over its illustrious history and has paid over R1.3 million in prize money, making it South Africa’s richest junior surfing series. All of the country’s top international performers, including CT members Jordy Smith, Travis Logie, Ricky Basnett, David Weare and Royden Bryson, have honed their skills by competing in series events.
The Billabong Junior Series presented by BOS at Magnatubes forms part of the J-Bay Winterfest, a multi-sport and music festival in Jeffreys Bay from July 8 - 19. More details at  

The World Surf League (WSL) organizes the annual tour of professional surf competitions and broadcasts each event live at where you can experience the athleticism, drama and adventure of competitive surfing -- anywhere and anytime it’s on.

The WSL sanctions and operates the following tours: the Junior Tour, Longboard Tour, the Qualifying Series (QS), the Big Wave Tour and the crown jewel of the sport, the WSL Championship Tour (CT) which determines the sport's undisputed world champions. The organization is headquartered in Santa Monica, California with Commercial Offices in New York. The offices are supported by regional centers in Africa, Asia, Australasia, Europe, Hawaii, North America and South America.

Paul Botha

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter