Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Billabong Pro Tahiti kicks off in Big Surf

Kelly Slater © ASP/Robertson




Billabong Pro Tahiti

ASP Men's World Tour Championship Event
Teahupo'o Tahiti
15 - 26 August 2014

Check the Live Action

Solid swell will peak this afternoon

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 18 August, 2014 - Teahupo'o, Tahiti - The Billabong Pro Tahiti, stop No. 7 of 11 on the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour, has been called on today for Round 1 in excellent 6 - 8 foot waves. Today looks set to be a thrilling day of competition and the world's best surfers are preparing to face the most dangerous waves on Tour this year.

"This morning is as good as it gets out there," said ASP Commissioner Kieren Perrow. "It's unbelievable, the draining ocean and the waves are perfect so we are on. We've been tracking this swell for about two weeks and there's an incredible day of action ahead." 

Surfline, official surf forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti have called for:

Solid SW swell will build in on Monday, peak through the afternoon and offer very strong surf all day. Weak ENE trades early will shift to light/variable in the afternoon. Tuesday will see easing swell/surf as S wind increases in the afternoon (after light AM wind). Another strong SW swell builds Wednesday afternoon and continues Thursday as wind shifts from SE (Wed) to ESE (Thur). More SW swell is due for the last 3-4 days of the waiting period, although we may see unfavorable wind develop over the weekend. 

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Kelly Slater (USA), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Glenn Hall (IRL)
Heat 2: Michel Bourez (PYF), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Mitch Coleborn (AUS)
Heat 5: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Nathan Hedge (AUS)
Heat 6: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Mitch Crews (AUS), Tuamata Puhetini (PYF)
Heat 7: Adriano De Souza (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Dion Atkinson (AUS)
Heat 8: Nat Young (USA), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 9: Kolohe Andino (USA), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Heat 10: Josh Kerr (AUS), Julian Wilson (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 11: Owen Wright (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 12: Jordy Smith (ZAF), John John Florence (HAW), Kai Otton (AUS)

Dave Prodan

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter