Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Billabong Pro Tahiti waits: solid swell approaches





Billabong Pro Tahiti

ASP Men's World Tour Championship Event
Teahupo'o Tahiti
15 - 26 August 2014

Check the Live Action

Solid mid-period SSW swell will build all day Sunday

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 23 August, 2014 - Teahupo'o - The Billabong Pro Tahiti, stop no. 7 on the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour, has been put on STANDBY today with inconsistent 2-to-54 foot waves at Teahupo'o. With a projected increase in swell over the next 24 hours, event organizers will reconvene at 7:00 a.m. local time (TAHT/GMT -10) on Sunday, August 24 to reassess conditions for the possible recommencement of competition.

"The surf has dropped further this morning prompting a lay day for competition," said ASP Commissioner Kieren Perrow. "We anticipate the surf to build overnight and over the next two days and expect to be back on tomorrow."

Surfline, official surf forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, have called for: Mid-size, longer period SW swell will continue today with lully, but very contestable surf. A much stronger and solid mid-period SSW swell will build all day Sunday, continue Monday and then ease Tuesday. N wind prevails over the weekend with light/variable wind on Monday. 

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 2 Upcoming Match-Ups
Heat 12: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 3 Match-Ups (1st to Round 4, 2nd finishes Equal 13th):
Heat 1: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 2: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Heat 3: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Heat 4: Kolohe Andino (USA) vs. Mitch Crews (AUS)
Heat 5: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. C.J. Hobgood (USA)
Heat 6: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Nathan Hedge (AUS)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 8: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Sebastian Zietz (HAW)
Heat 9: Nat Young (USA) vs. Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 10: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 11: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. TBD
Heat 12: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Dion Atkinson (AUS)

Dave Prodan

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter