Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Border claim South African Masters Surfing Champs

Greg Emslie © SSA / Tasha Mentasti 


South African Masters Surfing Champs

Surfing South Africa
Nahoon Reef, East London
29 - 31 July 2011

Border wins SA Masters Cup plus four individual titles in epic surf at Nahoon Reef

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 1 August, 2011 : - -  The Border Masters surfing team won the interprovincial SA Masters Cup for the fifth consecutive year and added four of the seven individual titles to their tally as they completely dominated the 2011 South African Masters Surfing Championships in their home surf.

The final day of the event was held in epic 1.5 to two metre waves fanned by a gentle offshore breeze that created the ideal conditions for the country’s best surfers aged 30-and-over to deliver excellent scores as the long walls of water wound down the reef at Nahoon.

The Border team’s local knowledge paid off handsomely with Greg Emslie (Seniors), Kevin O’Brien (Grand Masters), David Malherbe (Kahunas) and Dave Fish (Veterans) all clinching their respective division titles. Such was the host province’s domination that all four finalists in the Grand Masters division came from East London.

The other three individual crowns went to Southern KZN’s Heather Clark (Women) and Gary van Wieringen (Masters) while Chris Knutsen from KZN Central won the Grand Kahunas division.

Fish set the standard for the finals when, competing in the over-55 Veterans division, the oldest age category to be contested, he posted the first perfect 10 point ride of the event and went on to add an 8.0 point ride for a heat winning tally of 18.0 out 20. Fish finished ahead of Jeremy Zinn (WP) with Neil Marwick (Bol) and Leonard Giles (Southern Cape), the defending Veterans champion, placing third and fourth respectively.

Knutsen was in top form to clinch his umpteenth national title, netting a heat total of 17.25 out of 20 as he surfed to victory over Bushy Greef from Zululand, who was competing in a contest for the first time, followed by Eastern Province’s Kurt Buchner and Grantley Reid (Zul).

David Malherbe added yet another title to his storied CV with a consummate performance where he comprehensively outscored Mason Harrison (Zul), Colin Buitendag (SC) and Darryl Adamson (SKZN), who finished the Kahunas final in that order.

O’Brien’s win in the Grand Masters was his first national title at any level and he beat his more fancied Border teammates, Andre Malherbe, a medallist at International level, and former SA Men’s champions Gareth Sepp and Wayne Monk.

Van Wieringen was one of the standouts throughout the event and he carried that momentum into the final of the Masters division where he triumphed over fellow SKZN team member Ben Roberts with Justin Emslie (Bor) and Graeme Field (WP) taking third and fourth.

Former World Tour campaigner, Greg Emslie, SA’s highest earning professional surfer and current SA Men’s and Pro Surf Tour (PST) champion, added the SA Senior title to his collection of accolades with an outstanding display of world-class contest surfing. After recording an excellent ride of 9.35 out of 10, Emslie dropped to second place behind national team member Llewellyn Whittaker (SC) whose dynamic backhand surfing earned  a couple of high scores.

But Emslie’s intimate knowledge of Nahoon Reef saw the 34 year-old wait patiently for the ideal wave and then string together a series of searing carves and flowing cutbacks to earn the second 10 point ride of the event and cruise to victory with a near perfect heat total of 19.35 out of 20.
Whittaker hung onto second place with 16.40 points while Calvin Moore (SKZN) took third place and Jethro Johnson (Bor) finished fourth.

Border’s team total of 33 646 points was a substantial 7 400 more than runners-up Eastern Province who were themselves more than 2 600 ahead of third placed Boland. Zululand came in fourth in the hunt for the SA Masters Cup followed by WP, SKZN, SC and a depleted KZN Central team.

The trials for the SA Masters team to compete in the ISA World Masters Surfing Championships in El Salvador in October will be held at Nahoon Reef on Monday. South Africa has won the ISA World Masters Championships twice in the three years it has been held. Last year they were runners up in Panama.

All the results from the SA Masters Surfing Championships are posted on Surfing South Africa is recognized by the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee as the governing body for the sport in South Africa. Surfing South Africa is a member of the International Surfing association.

SA Masters Cup
1. Border                               33 646 points
2. Eastern Province               26 240
3. Boland                               23 568
4. Zululand                            19 280
5. Western Province             17 830           
6. Southern KZN                   17 206
7. Southern Cape                 14 484
8. KZN Central                       7 350

1. Heather Clark (SKZN)
2. Michelle Hill (EP)
3. Tasha Mentasti (Bol)
4. Carolyn Dent (WP)

1. Greg Emslie (Bor)
2. Llewellyn Whittaker (SC)
3. Calvin Moore (SKZN)
4. Jethro Johnson (Bor)

1. Gary van Wieringen (SKZN)
2. Ben Roberts (SKZN)
3. Justin Emslie (Bor)
4. Graeme Field (WP)

Grand Masters
1. Kevin O’Brien (Bor)
2. Andre Malherbe (Bor)
3. Gareth Sepp (Bor)
4. Wayne Monk (Bor)

1. David Malherbe (Bor)
2. Mason Harrison (Zulu)
3. Colin Buitendag (SC)
4. Darryl Adamson (SKZN)

Grand Kahunas
1. Chris Knutsen (KZNC)
2. Bushy Greef (Zulu)
3. Kurt Buchner (EP)
4. Grantley Reid (Zulu)

1. Dave Fish (Bor)
2. Jeremy Zinn (WP)
3. Neil Marwick (Bol)
4. Leonard Giles (SC)

Survey: Map Surfing’s future 

More African Surfing News available here
Check the latest Africa Surf Reports and Forecasts

B2B News ASBE-Surf   |  Receive News-Alerts

Robin de Kock

Masters - Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter