Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Campbell & Bevilacqua win 2015 King & Queen of the Point

Luke Campbell © Surfing WA/Woolacott



Star Surf & Skate King of the Point

Surfing Australia
Trigg Beach, Australia 
31 May - 1 June 2015

70's best WA surfers battle for King of the Point

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 1 June, 2015 - Trigg Beach, Australia -Today in Trigg Beach Luke Campbell (Margaret River) and Claire Bevilacqua (Yallingup) have taken top honours over the weekend at Perth's premiere surfing event, the Star Surf & Skate King of the Point presented by the City of Stirling.
A stacked field of close to 70 of WA's best male and female surfers made the most of small, but clean and consistent 1-2 feet waves on offer across the two-day event. 

Beautiful autumn conditions saw a strong crowd fill in on finals day, utilising Trigg Point's natural amphitheatre and soaking up the festival style atmosphere on offer.
The blue ribbon King of the Point final, saw local favourite and former Trigg resident, Luke Campbell (Margaret River) take on 2015 Open Men's State Champion Jerome Forrest (Margaret River) in an enthralling man-on-man match up. 

Campbell started the final making it known that he intended to win, throwing down big outside manoeuvres followed up by solid finishing turns, posting a 7.17 (from a possible 10). Forrest opened with a 5.83, but looked out of sync with ocean catching just one more wave during the 25 minute final. 

While Forrest was content to hold priority and wait for the set waves, it was Campbell who kept busy catching anything that moved, scoring a heat high 7.27 to build a two wave combined total of 14.44 (from a possible 20). 

In the end it was Campbell's superior knowledge of the Trigg lineup, his great wave selection and on-point powerful surfing that led him to the throne to be crowned the 2015 King of the Point.

"I'm originally from Trigg and growing up as a kid this competition was the biggest thing ever," said Campbell. "I'm thrilled to join a list of guys that have won here and I'm so stoked to see the metro beaches hosting such an important event for WA surfers."  

For his efforts Campbell picked up the $1,000 winners cheque, as well as a spot into the trials of the World Surf League (WSL) Drug Aware Margaret River Pro in 2016.

The battle for Queen of the Point saw some of WA's best female surfers take to the water, with former WSL World Tour competitor and 2015 Open Women's State Champion Claire Bevilacqua (Yallingup) dominating, capturing he third consecutive win at the event.

Using her past performances and extensive competition experience, Bevilacqua impressed scoring a combined 14.57 (from a possible 20), to take victory ahead of Bailee Hastie (Gracetown) who finished second, with Denver Young (Cottesloe) and Phoebe McGregor (Yallingup) in third and fourth respectively.

"Wow, to win here for the third consecutive year is pretty special," said Bevilacqua. "Like Luke Campbell, I grew up surfing on the metro beaches and think it's great that this iconic event continues to deliver."

The hotly contested Under-21 Pro Junior final was an exciting insight into the future of WA surfing, with contenders bringing their all. Cottesloe's Jake Edwards continued his rapid improvement in all conditions, taking the win with a combined total of 15.36 (from a possible 20) which included an excellent 8.33 (from a possible 10). 

While Edwards was a comfortable winner, it was extremely close between all other places, with just 0.43 separating second, third and fourth when the final siren sounded. Yallingup's Jack Thomas surfed excellently all weekend finishing in second on 11.60 points, while Duke Nagtzaam (Yallingup) also impressed finishing third on 11.43, with Josh Cattlin (Yallingup) in fourth on 11.17 points.

"I'm really stoked to take out this win, in conditions that don't exactly suit my surfing," said Edwards. "I'll take some confidence from this into the remainder of the events this year."

The Under-16 young guns also charged at Trigg Point during their 25 minute final, with Josh Cattlin (Yallingup) proving to be in a league of his own, posting a 8.50 and a 6.67 to finish on a combined total of 15.17 (from a possible 20).

Caitlin also grew up surfing at Trigg before moving to Yallingup, and it showed with a dominant performance on his former local break. Caitlin finished ahead of Max Leaver (Yallingup) in second, Fletcher Llanwarne (Duncraig) in third and Lachie Mitchell-D'raine (Duncraig) in fourth. 

"The weekend has been really good fun and it's been a great warm up for the Junior Surfing Titles which will run here in a couple of weeks time," said Cattlin.

In other results from the weekend, Luke Campbell (Margaret River) was also successful in the Over-30 Masters division, edging out a fast finishing Jesse Molloy (Secret Harbour) and Drew Everest (Duncraig). 

Surfing WA Events Manager Justin Majeks was ecstatic with the King of the Point's success in 2015 and took time to thank all involved.

"Thanks to the support of our key partners and of course the City of Stirling," said Majeks. "It was great to have Counsellor Bill Stewart from the City of Stirling here helping us to promote the rich history of this event and the future stars of  our sport. We look forward to being back here bigger and better in 2016."  

For more information on this or any other WA surfing event, be sure to log onto for event updates, news, videos, image galleries and online registrations.
The Star Surf & Skate King of the Point, presented by City of Stirling. 
Supported by West Coast Suspensions, Rusty, SunSmart, Healthway & Surfing Western Australia.
1st - Luke Campbell (Margaret River) 14.44pts
2nd - Jerome Forrest (Margaret River) 6.83pts
Equal 3rd - Jack Thomas (Yallingup) & Nick Muntz (Marmion)

1st - Claire Bevilacqua (Yallingup) 14.57pts
2nd - Bailee Hastie (Gracetown) 13.50pts
3rd - Denver Young (Cottesloe) 10.84pts
4th - Phoebe McGregor (Yallingup) 7.66pts

1st - Jake Edwards (Cottesloe) 15.26pts
2nd - Jack Thomas (Yallingup) 11.60pts
3rd - Duke Nagtzaam (Yallingup) 11.43pts
4th - Josh Cattlin (Yallingup) 11.17pts

1st - Josh Cattlin (Yallingup) 15.17pts
2nd - Max Leaver (Yallingup) 8.40pts
3rd - Fletcher Llanwarne (Duncraig) 7.80pts
4th - Lachie Mitchell-D'raine (Duncraig) 5.96pts.

1st - Luke Campbell (Margaret River) 13.40pts
2nd - Jesse Molloy (Secret Harbour) 12.73pts
3rd - Drew Everest (Duncraig) 10.36pts

Justin Majeks

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter