Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Champs crowned at Billabong Grommet Attack Series

Grom attack! © Made Budi Aristyawan




Billabong Grommet Attack Series

Kuta Beach, Bali
19 July 2015

Champs crowned at third and final Billabong Grommet Attack Series event

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 22 July, 2015 - Kuta, Bali - The third and final event of the Billabong Grommet Attack 2015 Series finished up on Sunday, 19 July 2015, at Halfway, Kuta Beach, in an exciting showcase of Bali’s best up-and-coming junior surfers.

After an amazing run at Padma Beach with great wave selections, the series’ good karma continued with Kuta Beach delivering superb lefts and rights in classic Halfway form. With glassy peeling waves pumping in as if a wave machine produced it, a proud Rahtu Suargita boasted on the microphone “this is Halfway at its best! Rights to the right; and lefts to the left, with nothing in the middle. Thank you Mother Nature for sending us such perfect swell direction!”

Along with a perfect venue and excellent conditions, the day started with Round 1 of the Under 14 boys taking to the water with the bar set high by title contenders Ben Benson, Dhani Widianto, and Ryuki Waida, proving that the future of surfing in Indonesia is in good hands.

But it seems that they did not phase all the other competitors of the day, as our grommets charged-on hard wowing the thousands of tourists, friends and families on Kuta Beach during one of the busiest weekends on the island of Bali – many of whom were celebrating the Idul Fitri holiday. After the busy run of heats in the morning, a break for some tug-of-war fun and lunch courtesy from Made’s Warung was called, which gave the groms a chance to restore some of their energy for the finals.

The first final saw the Push-in Division (under 12 years old) taken out by Adrian, who showed skills beyond his years attacking each wave aggressively with no fear, racking up a total of 40 points to outscore runner up Ghana Sunestra by almost 10 points. But as Adrian had not competed in the previous two events, it was Surya Ratif that came home with the Push-in Division series championship for having the most points in the series.

The Under 14 Boys final was won by Billabong’s very own Kian Martin, whose waves selection and combination of maneuvers got him the high heat score of 27 points from the judging panel, just ahead of Tenshi Ishi the runner with 24.9 points. But it was Ben Benson who raced to the podium to take the Under 14 Boys series championship, having posted a second place finish in each of the previous two events and racking up the most points in the division.

The Under 16 Girls division final was a pressure cooker for Kuta Beach local Dhea Natasya, who knew she had to perform or risk losing both the event and the division championship. But she proved to the task, picking off both rights and lefts in the tricky low tide conditions and completing the high risk maneuvers she attempted, coming in with 27.4 points to runner up Cinta Hansel’s 22.5. With her event win, Dhea was the only finalist that also became the series winner. Congratulations Dhea!

The highly competitive Under 16 Boys division was won by Rio Waida, who having missed the Padma event due to being in Australia competing in the Occy Grom Comp was determined to get one over on his buddy Raju Sena who had won both of the previous events – and he did! With his air reverse game in perfect form, and mixing it up with some great turns, Rio racked up 39.1 points, with runner up Kaleb Sukadis getting 27.8, Putu Krisna 25.2, and Raju ending in 4th place with 20.4.

However, Raju still came home with the Under 16 Boys series championship trophy, lots of goodies, and a smile on his face!

Billabong’s Business Development Advisor, Chris Slattery, commented, “Today was absolutely unreal! Everyone had a great time and that’s exactly how we wanted this event to be.” When asked for his opinion on the level of surfing here as compared with what he’s seen in Australia, he replied “It’s up there with the best I’ve ever seen. I’ve spent the last 9 years at the Small Fries events in Australia, and these kids should all come over and compete in them. They’re just as good!”

All the event finalists receive goody bags and trophies from Billabong. In addition to that, the series champions also received a Rp 3,000,000 gift certificate from Billabong and FCS, and a voucher for a 2-night stay at Hotel Neo+ in Kuta-Legian.

Billabong Grommet Attack #3 Contest Results

Billabong Grommet Attack Series Champions
• Under 16 Boys: Raju Sena
• Under 16 Girls: Dhea Natasya
• Under 14 Boys: Ben Benson
• Push-In: Surya Ratif

Under 16 Boys :
1. Rio Waida
2. Kaleb Sukadis
3. Putu Krisna
4. Raju Sena

Under 14 Boys :
1. Kian Martin
2. Tenshi Ishi
3. Dhani Widianto
4. Ryuki Waida

Under 16 Girls :
1. Dhea Natasya
2. Cinta Hansel
3. Kea Smith
4. Taina Hinckel

Push-in Division :
1. Adrian Yos (Steenburgen)
2. Ghana Sunestra
3. Kai Raymond (Steenburgen)

Made Budi Aristyawan

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter