Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Champs crowned at Subway Summer Surf Series

Subway Winners © Surfing West Australia/Woolacott





Subway Summer Surf Series

Surfing Western Australia
Trigg Point, Western Australia
14 - 15 March 2015

WA's best navigate unpredictable conditions at Trigg Point

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 16 March, 2015 - Trigg Point, Western Australia - The 12th event of the Subway Summer Surf Series was completed today at Trigg Point in Western Australia, with six champions crowned in punchy onshore peaks along Perth's metropolitan coastline.

In an event that oozed surfing talent, many of WA's best young surfers were on show. The bumper field of entrants were forced to adapt from yesterday's calm and clean conditions, with strong onshore winds and a building swell providing a true test on finals day. 

Phoebe McGregor (Yallingup) displayed both power and control to capture the under-16 Girls title, throwing down a flashy mixture of backhand and forehand turns. McGregor saved her best until last locking in a 6.57 and 7.33 on her finals two waves of the final to finish on a combined total of 13.9 (from a possible 20).

Phoebe McGregor © Surfing West Australia/Woolacott

McGregor locked in back-to-back Subway Summer Surf Series wins after success in Margaret River recently, defeating Mia McCarthy (Margaret River), April McPherson (Mandurah), Mia McCarthy (Margaret River) and Emma Cattlin (Yallingup).
The under-16 Boys final was a sea-sawing encounter, with all surfers locking in decent wave scores and challenging for the win. In the end it was metro local Alex McGuffin (Bicton) who managed to crunch the best waves of the final to secure a confidence building win. McGufffin held on to a nail-bitting finish just ahead of a talented filed including, Jack Thomas (Yallingup), Josh Cattlin (Yallingup) and Ben Spence (Margaret River).

Alex McGuffin © Surfing West Australia/Woolacott

"This is a massive win for me I can't believe it," said McGuffin. "I'm stoked to take the win, especially with all the boys were ripping this weekend."
Emi Campbell (Denmark) was another back-to-back winner, taking out  the under-18 Girls final. Campbell picked off the best two waves to defeat close friends Bailee Hastie (Gracetown), Denver Young (Cottesloe) and Mia McCarthy (Margaret River).

After already winning her way to the Hurley Surfing Australia High Performance Centre with victory in Margaret River,  Campbell was elated to learn that runner-up Bailee Hastie will now be joining her on the three day camp at Casuarina, NSW.

"I'm so happy to have won another event of the Summer Surf Series," said Campbell. "It will be great to have Bailee joining me on the the HPC, it will be great."
Yallingup's Felix Leaver will also be heading to the Hurley Surfing Australia High Performance Centre, after claiming victory in the under-18 Boys division. Leaver was the weekend's standout surfer, posting massive scores and looking at home in the varying conditions.

Leaver used his quick and nimble style to good effect, scoring a combined total of 14.67 (from a possible 20). The lightening fast natural-footer defeated a fast finishing Ace Van Peer (Mandurah), Josh Cattlin (Yallingup), and Moses Le Grice (East Fremantle) in one of the closest results of the weekend.

"It's been a really enjoyable weekend and event," said Leaver. "I've been to the HPC just once before and I can't wait to get there and learn everything I can to improve my surfing."

In other results, Jake Edwards (Cottesloe) and Mia McCarthy (Margaret River) were awarded a free wildcard into the 2015 Australian Surfmasters Titles (Open Men’s and Women’s divisions) as part of the Australian Surf Festival for winning under-21 Pro Junior divisions.

Mia McCarthy © Surfing West Australia/Woolacott

"2015 has been a good learning curve for me," said Edwards. "I look forward to getting to the Aussie Titles and mixing it up with the best Open surfers in the country."

"I grew up surfing along this beach and it still means a lot to me," said McCarthy. "I'm stoked with the win and thanks to all the girls in the final."
The Subway® Summer Surf Series will help young Australians continue to develop their passion for surfing, whether it be professionally or recreationally and carry on to enjoy a lifetime of surfing.

The Subway Surf Camp for the under-18 winners will talk place at the renowned Hurley Surfing Australia High Performance Centre later this month and is conducted by Australia's leading surf coaches. The camp will provide participants with the guidance and training they need to make the transition from surfer to professional athlete.
Ambassadors for the Subway® Summer Surf Series are WSL Championship Tour competitor and 2012 World Champion Joel Parkinson and leading WSL Championship Tour female competitor Laura Enever.
The Subway Summer Surf Series is proudly supported by Billabong, Surfing Australia and Surfing Western Australia.

Event # 9 Subway Summer Surf Series - Margaret River. Final Results:
Under 16 Girls:
1. Phoebe McGregor (Yallingup, WA) – 13.90pts
2. Mia McCarthy (Margaret River, WA) – 10.56pts
3. April McPherson (Mandurah, WA) – 9.66pts
4. Cassia Haegele (Exmouth, WA) – 5.10pts
Under 16 Boys:
1. Alex McGuffin (Yallingup) – 14.04pts
2. Jack Thomas (Yallingup, WA) – 14.00pts
3. Josh Cattlin (Yallingup, WA) 13.57pts
4. Ben Spence (Margaret River, WA) – 12.07pts
Under 18 Girls:
1. Emi Campbell (Denmark, WA) – 13.77pts
2. Baille Hastie (Gracetown, WA) – 11.77pts
3. Denver Young (Cottesloe, WA) - 11.60pts
4. Mia McCarthy (Margaret River, WA) - 10.74pts 
Under 18 Boys:
1. Felix Leaver (Yallingup, WA) - 15.00pts
2. Ace Van Peer (Mandurah, WA) – 14.06pts
3. Josh Cattlin (Yallingup, WA) – 13.00pts
4. Moses Le Grice (East Fremantle, WA) – 12.23pts
Under 21 Girls:
1. Mia McCarthy (Margaret River, WA)  - 12.83pts
2. Emi Campbell (Denmark, WA) - 11.84pts
3. Denver Young (Cottesloe, WA) - 11.33pts
4. Cassia Haegele (Exmouth, WA) - 7.30pts
Under 21 Boys:
1. Jake Edwards (Cottesloe, WA) - 15.56pts
2. Pascal Hutchinson (Sorrento, WA) - 12.87pts
3. Moses Le Grice (East Fremantle, WA) – 12.67pts
4. Nick Muntz (Trigg Beach, WA) - 9.76pts
EVENT 1 - Dee Why, NSW - September 13 - 14, 2014                
EVENT 2 - Newcastle Beach, NSW - September 27 - 28, 2014               
EVENT 3 - Sunshine Coast, QLD - October 25 - 26, 2014               
EVENT 4 - Torquay, VIC - November 1 - 2, 2014   
EVENT 5 - Kiama, NSW - November 22 - 23, 2014   
EVENT 6 - Clifton, TAS - December 13, 2014   
EVENT 7 - Gold Coast, QLD - January 3 - 4, 2015    
EVENT 8 - Phillip Island, VIC - January 17, 2015                    
EVENT 9 - Margaret River, WA - January 31 - February 1, 2015      
EVENT 10 - Victor Harbor, SA - February 14 - 15, 2015                      
EVENT 11 - Cronulla, NSW - March 7 - 8, 2015                            
EVENT 12 - Trigg, WA - March 14 -15, 2015       
EVENT 13 - Yamba, NSW - March 21 - 22, 2015

Justin Majeks

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter