Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Club rivalry is set to explode at Jim Beam Surftag Series


Jim Beam Surftag Series

Club rivalry set to explode at Surftag

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, Sydney, February 01 2005; - Sydney’s Curl Curl Beach will be the venue for this weekends NSW qualifying round of the 2005 Jim Beam National Surftag Series.

With up to thirty teams competing for the eight Grand Final spots on offer the standard of surfing is sure to be explosive with each Club being represented by five surfers over the age of 18. Defending National and NSW Surftag Champions North Steyne Boardriders will open proceedings in heat one on Saturday morning with the event due to start at 8.00am.

North Steyne have entered two teams in the event and have made one change to their line-up that was successful last season with Heath Irving replacing Bill Langley. North Steyne’s “A” team will include Dayyan Neve, Beau Mithchell, Paul Evans, Kurt Jacobs and Irving. Langley will line-up in North Steyne’s “B” team.

Teams from as far as Merewether (Newcastle) and Werri Beach (South Coast) will be on show with nine northern beach’s Club’s entering the event. One Club eager to qualify to the Surftag Grand Final will be the Curl Curl Boardriders who over the past few years have come so close to claiming a National Surftag Title. Lead by Matt Bemrose Curl Curl finished 5th last season, 3rd in 2002 and 3rd in 2001.

Rivalry between local Club’s North Steyne, Curl Curl and Queenscliff has always been intense and after Queenscliff claimed victory in the recent Gromtag event and with Sam Page who is currently ranked 2nd on the Australian Junior Series flying back from Queensland especially for the event there is sure to be some exciting battles throughout the event.

Central Coast Club Umina Boardriders who finished second to North Steyne in last seasons Grand Final will be looking for their big guns Drew Courtney and Glen Hall who are both rated in the Worlds top 100 to perform strongly during the event. Other Club’s expected to perform strongly include North Narrabeen, Merewether, Avoca and Elouera.

The Jim Beam Surftag Series is Australia’s largest team surfing competition, with more than 50 Boardriding Clubs competing nationally for the title of Australia’s number one club. The selection process began in September 2004, with hundreds of local surfers competing against each other in their local Jim Beam Boardriders Cup events. The best five surfers were then selected to represent their Clubs in the Jim Beam National Surftag Series.

First place on the weekend will receive $1000 with the overall National winner receiving $7,000. The Jim Beam Boardriders Cup and Jim Beam National Surftag Series have a combined prize pool of $50,000. 

More Australasian Surfing News available here
Check the latest Australasian Surf Reports and Forecasts

For further Information please contact:

Global Surftag
Steve Harrison
0403 180 787

Tag Team Contests - Surfersvillaage

- - News and Announcements presented by - -

Getting Stoked -o- Cream Café – Robbie Page -o- Contests Register

- CNS Portugal -o- Worldwide Surforecasts -o- Euro Camper Rentals -


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter