Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Day 2 boils at Quiksilver Saquarema Prime

Quiksilver Saquarema Prime, WQS, ASP, Rio de Janeiro, adriano de souza, Alejo Muniz, Jadson Andre, Dion Atkinson, jeremy flores, Tiago Pires
Raoni Monteiro © ASP/Smorigo




Quiksilver Saquarema Prime 
Presented by Powerade

ASP Prime/South America Surf Series
Praia de Itauna, Saquarema, Brazil
20 - 25 May, 2014

Check the Live Action

Stunning Performances Ignite the second day of Brazil Prime 

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 21 May, 2014 - Saquarema, Rio de Janeiro - Competition recommenced on the 2nd day of the waiting period at the ASP 2014 Quiksilver Saquarema Prime presented by Powerade. Quality conditions were on hand as waves in the 3-4 foot range and light offshore winds greeted competitors at Praia de Itauna, located in Saquarema, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
A number of high scoring waves were earned throughout competition on Wednesday, accentuated by Billy Stairmand (NZL), who received the event’s highest heat wave total of a 17.63 (out of 20 points) and Sebastian Zietz (HAW) who collected the event’s highest single wave score of a 9.77 (out of 10 points). Following closely behind Zietz’ performance was Filipe Toledo (BRA), who scored a 9.57 by displaying his renowned air-game.
“I was watching the heats before mine, and I noticed that everyone was sticking to the lefts, but there were some incredible right-handers that I was focusing on,” said Toledo. “I started my heat off well with that big air at the end and then added on a good score to qualify into the next round. I’m feeling confident and look forward to competing tomorrow.”
For the first time in ASP history, the Quiksilver Saquarema Prime has implemented a four-man priority system in competition. By applying this method, the ASP seeks to improve the quality of heats and increase opportunities provided in competition.
Adriano de Souza (BRA) commented on the new priority system after qualifying into Round 3. “I think it’s a good idea. It gives you a certain freedom to sit and wait for the wave you want without having to pay much attention to your opponents. You can just concentrate on how you surf. I like it and even though things can get a little confusing out there, I think it’s really going to improve the sport,” finalized de Souza.

Adriano de Souza © ASP/Smorigo

Current WCT surfer, Dion Atkinson (AUS), continued to demonstrate his prowess by qualifying into Round 3 and also commented on the new regulation. “It’s the first time this type of priority has ever been used in an event and it’s really different,” said Atkinson. “We end up having to let a few waves go by, but I think it helps the athletes overall to get quality scores.”
Only two heats remain to conclude Round of 48. On Thursday, local hero and WCT surfer Raoni Monteiro (BRA) will commence the action against Perth Standlick (AUS), Lucas Silveira (BRA) and Marco Fernandez (BRA).
Raoni Monteiro commented on how it feels to participate at the Quiksilver Saquarema Prime at his home break. “I feel very relaxed and competing at home is great. I’ve got everything in my favor,” stated Monteiro. “There are always great waves at Itauna, my boards feel excellent and I just want to keep making heats like I have in the past. The forecast shows an increase in swell and wind, but I’m sure conditions will be good all week long.”
A total of 28 surfers representing 10 different countries remain in competition at the Quiksilver Saquarema Prime.
The 2014 ASP Quiksilver Saquarema Prime presented by Powerade is brought to you by the Brazilian Association of Surfing Professionals (ABRASP) and sponsored by the State of Rio de Janeiro, the City of Saquarema, Powerade, Quiksilver, Peugeot and Barra GR Hygiene and Cleaning and is supported by CCR Via Lagos, the Rio de Janeiro Surf Federation (FESERJ) and the Saquarema Surf Association (ASS).

The event is organized by the ASP South America as the first 2014 ASP World Prime event and offers U$ 250,000 in prize money and 6,500 points towards the ASP Qualifying Series ranking.

Round of 24 

1.a: Alex Ribeiro (BRA), Beyrick De Vries (AFR), Gony Zubizarreta (ESP)

2.a: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Patrick Gudauskas (EUA), Keanu Asing (HAV)

3.a: Dion Atkinson (AUS), Jadson André (BRA), Heitor Alves (BRA)

4.a: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Tomas Hermes (BRA), Jessé Mendes (BRA)

5.a: Matt Banting (AUS), Ricardo Christie (NZL), Chris Ward (EUA)

6.a: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Nic Von Rupp (PRT)

7.a: Billy Stairmand (NZL), 1.o da 11.a bateria da 2.a fase e 2.o da 12.a

8.a: Charles Martin (GLP), 2.o da 11.a bateria da 2.a fase e 1.o da 12.a


1.a: 1-Alex Ribeiro (BRA), 2-Keanu Asing (HAV), 3-Simão Romão (BRA), 4-Santiago Muniz (ARG)

2.a: 1-Filipe Toledo (BRA), 2-Beyrick De Vries (AFR), 3-Carlos Muñoz (CRI), 4-Caio Ibelli (BRA)

3.a: 1-Patrick Gudauskas (EUA), 2-Gony Zubizarreta (ESP), 3-Nathan Yeomans (EUA), 4-Dusty Payne (HAV)

4.a: 1-Jadson André (BRA), 2-Tomas Hermes (BRA), 3-Krystian Kymerson (BRA), 4-Peterson Crisanto (BRA)

5.a: 1-Dion Atkinson (AUS), 2-Jessé Mendes (BRA), 3-Tiago Pires (PRT), 4-Michael Dunphy (EUA)

6.a: 1-Adriano de Souza (BRA), 2-Heitor Alves (BRA), 3-Gabriel Villaran (PER), 4-Davey Cathels (AUS)

7.a: 1-Ricardo Christie (NZL), 2-Nic Von Rupp (PRT), 3-Frederico Morais (PRT), 4-Conner Coffin (EUA)

8.a: 1-Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), 2-Chris Ward (EUA), 3-Alejo Muniz (BRA), 4-Kaito Ohashi (JPN)

9.a: 1-Jeremy Flores (FRA), 2-Matt Banting (AUS), 3-Stu Kennedy (AUS), 4-Jay Thompson (AUS)

10: 1-Billy Stairmand (NZL), 2-Charles Martin (GLP), 3-Ryan Callinan (AUS), 4-Torrey Meister (HAV)


Roberta Pinto

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter