Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



De Souza holding rating's lead heading into Jeffreys

Adriano de Souza © WSL / Kelly Cestari




J-Bay Open

Supertubes, Jeffrey's Bay, South Africa
8 - 9 July 2015

De Souza leads title race by slim margin heading into J-Bay

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 25 June, 2015 - Los Angeles, California - The world’s best surfers are just two weeks away from competing in the acclaimed waves of Supertubes at Jeffreys Bay for Stop No. 6 on the 2015 Samsung Galaxy World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT), the J-Bay Open.

Universally regarded as one of the best waves on the planet, Jeffreys Bay boasts a quality righthand pointbreak that delivers unparalleled high-speed consistency, making it the perfect platform to test the world’s best. The event holds a competitive window of July 8 - 19, 2015and is the only CT stop on the African continent.

Adriano de Souza (BRA) and Filipe Toledo (BRA) continue to hold first and second place on the WSL Jeep Leaderboard heading into the J-Bay Open with Fiji Pro standout Owen Wright (AUS) close behind in third place.

Defending event winner and three-time world champion Mick Fanning (AUS) currently sits in fourth place on the rankings and victory at Jeffreys Bay this year would see him equal 11-time world champion Kelly Slater’s (USA) record of four wins in South Africa. Fanning matches up against compatriot Kai Otton (AUS) and wildcard Dane Reynolds (USA) in the opening round while Slater will take on Jadson Andre (BRA) and Fredrick Patacchia (HAW).

Reynolds, former World No. 4, will once against join the WSL Top 34 as a wildcard at the J-Bay Open following a 9th-place finish at the recent Fiji Pro. Reynolds’ allocation comes via the WSL Commissioner’s Office which cited the Californian’s incredible talent, ability to lift the event’s performance level and recent surfing in Fiji as reasons for his selection.

Slade Prestwich (ZAF) will complete the field after earning a coveted wildcard entry into the event with a win at the JBU Supertrials on June 14, 2015. The Durban-based Qualifying Series (QS) surfer will battle Adriano de Souza (BRA) and Adam Melling (AUS) in Round 1.

“I have nothing to lose and will give everything I have in the J-Bay Open,” said Prestwich. “I love surfing at Supertubes and to get another chance to surf Supers with just one or two other guys in the water is going to be really cool. I cannot wait to surf against the likes of Kelly Slater, he’s a total legend."

Jordy Smith (ZAF), South Africa’s sole CT representative and a two-time winner at Jeffreys Bay (2010 and 2011), will be keen to return to his favourite event after dropping to No. 18 in the rankings following injury induced withdrawals in the last two events in Rio de Janeiro and Fiji

The J-Bay Open will be webcast LIVE on

The J-Bay Open is the showcase event at the J-Bay Winterfest, a multi-sport and music festival in Jeffreys Bay from July 8 - 19. More details at

J-Bay Open Round 1 Match-Ups:

Heat 1: Taj Burrow (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Glenn Hall (IRL)
Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 3: Owen Wright (AUS), Michel Bourez (PYF), Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 4: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), C.J. Hobgood (USA)
Heat 5: Mick Fanning (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS), Dane Reynolds (USA)
Heat 6: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS), Slade Prestwich (ZAF)
Heat 7: Josh Kerr (AUS), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA), Jadson Andre (BRA), Fredrick Patacchia (USA)
Heat 9: John John Florence (HAW), Jordy Smith (ZAF), Ricardo Christie (NZL)
Heat 10: Nat Young (USA), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Keanu Asing (HAW)
Heat 11: Italo Ferreira (BRA), Joel Parkinson (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA)
Heat 12: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Gabriel Medina (BRA), Matt Banting (AUS)

Paul Botha

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter