Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Eastern Province take South African longboard title

South African Longboard Association, Cape St. Francis, South Africa, Eastern Province, Western Province
Klee Strachan of Western Province © Fabian Coetzer



South African Longboard Championships

Seal Point, Cape St Francis South Africa
28 April - 3 May 2014

Eastern Province wrest title from Western Province 

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 10 May, 2014 - South African Longboard surfing returned to the Eastern Cape last week when 200 of the country’s top longboarders rolled into legendary Seal Point for SA Champs. Although the vibe in the water was ultra competitive and the standard of surfing red hot, it was a different story on the beach as friends and families spent time together.

First held in Seal Point 25 years ago, the 2014 SA Longboard Champs was blessed with good waves throughout the week. Outgoing SA Longboard Surfing Association President William Davis said the future of longboarding looked bright as surfers from all divisions pushed the envelope – mixing new school flash and old school style in cooking waves.

“The standard of surfing was excellent across all divisions,” said Davis. “It is like coming home…this is the roots of SA longboard champs - this is where it all started 25 years ago.” The event featured veteran longboarders, some of whom were just days short of their 70th birthday as well as 14 year olds,12 year olds and a 10 year old competitor.

Hosts Eastern Province won the Team Trophy with 103,248 points with defending champions Western Province taking second place on 102,925 points. Southern Cape came third with 67,835 points and KZN were fourth with 67,013 points. A major incentive for performing well in the premier divisions was the opportunity to earn a spot in the South Africa Longboard Team for the ISA World Longboard Champs later this year.

Davis said two Men, one Woman and an Under 18 Boy would be selected for the team based on their performances at Seal Point.“The standard of surfing through the event has been world class. It is a great venue, centrally located between Durban and Cape Town.”

Newly elected SALSA president Gregg Clarke of Eastern Province, who worked hard to ensure the event was a success, said standouts in the open division included Klee Strachan (WP), Matthew Moir (WP), Thomas King (WP) and a host of red hot “dark horses” who were all keen to win the premiere title.

In the end the highly contested Open Men’s final was won by Klee Strachan (WP) with former two time ISA World Champion Mathew Moir (WP) taking the runner up spot. Thomas King (WP) the 2013 SA Champ came third and Grant Beck (EP) was fourth.

Hannah Bing won the Open Women’s title ahead of EP team mate Margreet Wibbelink (EP). Tarryn Chudleigh (WP) was third and Roxy Davis (SC) came fourth. Tristan Lev (WP) took honours in the U18 Boys Division with Peter Coffey (EP) second, Cuan Macgregor (EP) third and Karl Kugelman (WP) fourth.

Matthew Moir (WP) won the “Outstanding surfer of the contest” award, Gregg Clarke (EP) took the “surfers’ surfer of the contest” award and Sam Christianson (KZN) earned himself the “junior surfer of the contest” award. The SA Longboard Championships was sponsored by Tiletoria and supported by Cape St Francis Resort and Lafarge.

Full Results

Open Men
1) Klee Strachan (WP)
2) Matthew Moir (WP)
3) Thomas King (WP)
4) Grant Beck (EP)

Open Women
1) Hannah Bing (EP)
2) Margreet Wibblelink (EP)
3) Tarryn Chudleigh (WP)
4) Roxy Davis (SC)

Under 18 Boys
1) Tristan Lev (WP)
2) Peter Coffey (EP)
3) Cuan Macgregor (EP)
4) Karl Kugelman (WP)

1) Mush Hyde (EP)
2) Timmy Kanigowski (WP)
3) John Macleod (EP)
4) John Elliot (KZN)

1) Andy Lenton (EP)
2) Bushy Greeff (KZN)
3) Dave vd Berg (KZN)
4) Gary van Rooyen (WP)

Grand Kahunas
1) Greg Smith (EP)
2) Victor Diebold (WP)
3) Stephen Hair (SC)
4) Dave Hansen (KZN)

1) Dave Macgregor (EP)
2) Craig Van Greunun (EP)
3) Dave Jenkins (WP)
4) Andrew Schmidt (WP)

Grand Masters
1) Craig Cuff (EP)
2) Alan Robb (WP)
3) Andrew Scott (EP)
4) Grant Gilmore (KZN)

1) Ryan Anderson (EP)
2) Michael Grendon (WP)
3) Duncan Scott (EP)
4) Johan vd Linden (EP)

Senior Men
1) Rat Mundy (KZN)
2) Stuart Rutherford (KZN)
3) Matthew Macleod (EP)
4) Liam Bulgen (WP)

Senior Ladies
1) Roxy Davis (SC)
2) Margreet Wibblelnk (EP)
3) Charley Pollard (WP)
4) Nina Loftus (EP)

1) Bernie Shelley (WP)
2) Kay Holt (SC)
3) Therese Russel (WP)
4) Phillipa Hill (EP)

Under 18 Girls
1) Britney Linder (EP)
2) Sam Sutton (WP)
3) Taylor Barr (WP)

Under 16 Boys
1) Sam Christianson (KZN)
2) Alex Van Rijswick (EP)
3) Torr Bovin (WP)
4) Riel Viviers (SC)

Under 16 Girls
1) Pippa Jones (WP)
2) Crystal Hullet (EP)
3) Kiah Bettison (WP)
4) Pia Ploughman (EP)

Under 14 Boys
1) Manoa Robb (WP)
2) Arnold Vermaak (EP)
3) Kye Macgregor (EP)

Robin de Kock

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter