Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Even if The Eddie doesn't go this year, the ceremony will




30th annual Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau

Waimea Bay, Oahu, Hawaii
December 2014 - February 2015 

Contest doesn't run each year, but the ceremony does

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 2 December, 2014 - The Opening Ceremony for the 30th annual Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau will be held this week at Waimea Bay on Thursday, December 4, at 3 p.m. and will include the event’s official Invitees and Alternates, as well as members of the Aikau family.

The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau was last held on December 9, 2009, and was won by California’s Greg Long. Long-range surf forecasts are currently eyeing the development of a potential “Eddie”-sized swell that could also arrive around December 9. The event has only been held a total of 8 times.
The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau is a one-day big wave riding event that only takes place if and when waves meet a 20-foot minimum height, during the holding period of December 1 through February 28, each Hawaiian winter. 

"The Eddie" is the original big wave surfing event and has become an icon of surfing through its honor, integrity and rarity.
The event honors Hawaiian hero Eddie Aikau, whose legacy is the respect he held for the ocean; his concern for the safety of all who entered it on his watch; and the way with which he rode Waimea Bay on its most giant and memorable days. 

Past winners:
1985/1986 : Denton Miyamura (HAW)
1989/1990 : Keone Downing (HAW)
2000/2001 : Ross Clarke-Jones (AUS)
2004/2005 : Bruce Irons (HAW)
1986/1987 : Clyde Aikau (HAW)
1998/1999 : Noah Johnson (HAW)
2001/2002 : Kelly Slater (USA)
2009/2010 : Greg Long (USA)





Aaron Gold
Bruce Irons
Clyde Aikau
Dave Wassel
Garrett Mcnamara
Grant Baker
Greg Long
Ian Walsh
Jamie Mitchell
Jamie O'brien
Jamie Sterling
John John Florence
Kala Alexander
Kelly Slater
Kohl Christensen
Makua Rothman
Mark Healey
Nathan Fletcher
Noah Johnson
Peter Mel
Reef Mcintosh
Ramon Navarro
Shane Dorian
Sunny Garcia
Ross Clarke-Jones
Takayuki Wakita
Tom Carroll
Jeremy Flores


Mason Ho
Koa Rothman
Kalani Chapman
Danilo Couto
Billy Kemper
Anthony Tashnick
Carlos Burle
Albee Layer
Ross Williams
Ben Wilkinson
Danny Fuller
Kealii Mamala
Michael Ho
Kai Lenny
Shawn Dollar
Gabriel Villaran
Evan Valiere
Kahea Hart
Keoni Watson
Derek Dunfee
Koby Abberton
Mark Mathews
Alex Gray
Laurie Towner


Donnie Solomon
Andy Irons
Mark Foo
Marvin Foster
Ronnie Burns
Ricky Grigg
Jay Moriarity
Lester Falatea
Mel Kinney
Peter Davi
Sion Milosky
Tiger Espere

Jodi Wilmott

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter