Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



ISA World Surfing Games return to Popoyo, Nicaragua

ISA World Surfing Games return to Popoyo, Nicaragua
Popoyo ©



ISA World Surfing Games

International Surfing Association
Popoyo, Nicaragua
31 May - 7 June 2015

Individuals & nations to go for gold & world team champion trophy

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 5 March, 2015 - The International Surfing Association (ISA) is excited to announce its return for the fourth year in a row to the beautiful country of Nicaragua for the 2015 ISA World Surfing Games taking place from May 31 to June 7.

Over 25 Nations are expected at the competition, which will gather the best surfers from around the globe at the powerful, world-class, and warm waters waves of Popoyo, Nicaragua. Located in Nicaragua’s stunning Pacific Coast in the Municipality of Tola, the break is a two hour drive from the capital city of Managua.

The athletes will compete for the Individual Gold Medals in Open Men’s and Open Women’s that will decide the winner of the coveted Fernando Aguerre World Team Trophy, and the International Olympic Committee (IOC) President’s Trophy.

Popoyo © ISA/Gonzalez

With the full support of Nicaragua’s President, Daniel Ortega, and the Ministry of Tourism headed by Mayra Salinas, Nicargua last hosted the ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship in Granada and La Boquita in 2014, ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in Playa Jiquiliste in 2013, and ISA World Masters Surfing Championship in Playa Colorado in 2012.

Surfing has been integral and successful development tool in the country. According to the Central Bank of Nicaragua, Surfing now registers as the #1 source of travel and tourism for the country.
In 2014, the historic ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games was held in Punta Rocas, Peru.

New surfing nations like the United Arab Emirates, Russia, Scotland and Turkey joined the celebrations, but in the end it was the local Peruvian team that took home The Fernando Aguerre World Team Trophy. In the individual division’s, Argentina’s Leandro “Lele” Usuna won Open Men’s and Peru’s Anali Gomez won Open Women’s.

2014 Opening Ceremony © ISA/Tweddle

The top seven placing National Teams will qualify for an invitation to the 2016 ISA China Cup, part of the ISA’s Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival, along with the local host team from China.

Fernando Aguerre, ISA President, speaking about the announcement of the 2015 ISA World Surfing Games, said: “I am delighted to return to the beautiful and welcoming country of Nicaragua, a place that has blessed us with incredible surf and permanent offshore winds. Nicaragua’s commitment to the sport of Surfing has shown its true value, as now Surfing ranks as the number one attraction for tourists. As we enter our next 50 years of history, I am very excited to join the world’s best surfers in experiencing this incredible country, and in witnessing them compete at one of its best waves at Popoyo.”

Carlos Escaba

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter