Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Jack Perry starts his roll with a TOLL Victorian Open win

Jack Perry © Liam Robertson



TOLL Victorian Open Series
Presented by HIF

Surfing Victoria
Cape Woolamai, Victoria Australia
6 - 7 February 2015

Last year's circuit champ keeps the momentum going

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 7 February, 2015 - Cape Woolamai, Victoria - 2014 Victorian Open Champion, Jack Perry (Jan Juc), has claimed the opening round of the TOLL Victorian Open Series presented by HIF at Cape Woolamai. In a small and shifty swell at the open ocean beach, the former WQS (World Qualifying Series) surfer made light work of the waves performing big manoeuvres throughout the whole competition.

Steve Noble (Cape Paterson) was the other standout on the Men’s side of the draw, locking in an event high 9-point ride in the final. Noble claimed the HIF Wave of the Weekend with that ride, earning himself a MODOM hooded poncho.
However, it was Perry who took out the final, with a 13.50 heat total to Nobles 13.10 points. Placing in third was Harry Mann (Torquay) with McKenzie Bowden (Jan Juc) in fourth. Perry was impressed with the level of surfing this year. “The level of surfing this year is crazy. Even the Round 1 heats were hard. I’m stoked to get the win, the conditions were tricky.”
The Women’s division saw young up and coming local surfer Sophie Fletcher (Phillip Island) take out the final over close friends and rivals, Piper Harrison (Mt Eliza) and Courtney Dunlop (Phillip Island).
“The conditions were hard. It was small and windy, but when the sets came it was fun” said Fletcher. “I have been surfing this bank every day for the last week, so I knew it really well and which ones would be good”
May Fox (Jan Juc) and Clare Atichison (Portland) placed in fourth and fifth. The event also saw the top Stand Up Paddleboard competitors compete with the best SUP surfers going head to head in the small conditions.
Matt Takle (Jan Juc) claimed the Open Men’s division for the third year in a row. Takle claimed the highest heat total across all divisions with 16.33 points in the final. Placing in second was Matt Lumley (Jan Juc) on 12.53 points with Chris Clarke (Pt Leo) in third on 11.36 points. Kenta Fergusson (Jan Juc) placed in fourth.
The Over 40 Mens division saw Chris Clarke take the win over Allan McKellar. Clarke amassed a total of 11.17 to Allan McKellars (Camberwell) 9.80. In the Over 50 Men, John Takle took top honours over Graeme Briggs (Point Lonsdale). Placing in third and fourth was Ross McClure (Beaumaris) and Mick Smith (Camberwell).
Kenta Fergusson (Jan Juc) won the Juniors division over James Carew (Beaumaris).

Liam Robertson

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter