Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Jason Torres & Emily Gussoni win Lola's Cup, Costa Rica

Jason Torres © Carlos Enrique Brenes





Lola's Cup

Guanacaste Surfing Tour
Playa Avellanas, Costa Rica
25 - 26 APril 2015

Costa Rica's Guanacaste Surfing Tour rolls into Playa Avellanas

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 30 April, 2015 - Playa Avellanas, Costa Rica - Jason Torres, yesterday added another victory in the Guanacaste Surfing Tour, presented by Creatures and Costa Dorada, during Lola's Cup. The event closed at Hazelnuts over a weekend memorable for the quality of santacruceña waves that offered the beach.

To reach his second victory and fourth consecutive podium, Torres beat his constant opponent of the season, Angelo Bonomelli—who took second—as well as the current Guanacaste champion, Isaac Vega, and Junior Leonardo Calvo.

From start to finish during the last final of the day-the Open- Jason was aggressive, but it was not until after the first 10 minutes of the series that the jacobeño took the initiative to play with power surfing on an open right hander, and did enough damage.

"Congratulating the finalists because I had a big fight in the final." Torres said. "For me, winning is always my goal and thank God again achieved here, which helps me a lot to my objective is to win everything this season. I'm focused on that."

With this victory, Jason keeps his first place in the table above Angelo who in turn will be maintained in the second position, so that the struggle for national championships and Guanacaste, increasingly looks between these two.

Fresh from Ecuador, Emily Gussoni, who won two international podiums in that country for Latin American Tour dates, was hungry enough to be crowned twice, in the Open and Junior Female categories.

In both categories she had to beat the number two ranking Guanacaste, Zulay Martinez. However, it was the USA's Molly Kirk who finished second. In fourth it was also another American, Avery Ayvelotte.

The next and final round of the championship tour will be at Playa Negra Santa Cruz, on 9 and 10 May, where the Cup will be run at Hotel Playa Negra.


1. Jason Torres
2. Angelo Bonomelli
3. Isaac Vega 
4. Leo Calvo

Open Women
1. Emily Gussoni
2. Molly Kirk
3. Zulay Martinez
4. Avery Aydelotte

1. Ian Bean
2. Red Guzzardo
3. Christian Boos
4. Alex Gomez

1. Aldo Chirinos
2. Leo Calvo
3. Malakai Martinez
4. Lorenzo Wickstrom

Jr Women
1. Emily Gussoni
2. Zulay Martinez
3. Coral Wiggins
4. Lia Diaz

1. Aldo Chirinos
2. Dean Vandewalle
3. Sean Foerster
4. Tiago Carrique

1. Avery Aydelotte
2. Molly Kirk
3. Serena Nava
4. Lia Diaz

Mixed Groms
1. Tiago Leao
2. Orion Eshel
3. Josh Dawson
4. Odin Rodriguez

1. Eddie Enrique
2. Adolfo Gomez
3. Alex Gomez
4. Nolden Zuniga

1. Kai Williams
2. Max Babyak
3. Sean Tomen
4. Finnegan Bean
5. Pietro Garroux
6. Charlie Herman

Carlos Enrique Brenes

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter