Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Jeison Torres Abarca wins Coldwater Classic wildcard




O'Neill Coldwater Classic

Association of Surfing Professionals Specialty Event
Steamer Lane, Santa Cruz California
28 October - 1 November 2014

Costa Rica’s Jeison Torres Abarca edged out three other surfers

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 8 October, 2014 - Santa Cruz - O’Neill presents the exclusive wildcard into the 2014 O’Neill Coldwater Classic Invitational to Costa Rica’s Jeison Torres Abarca.  Abarca earned his spot into the acclaimed event by winning an online voting contest against three other surfers.  The event will take place at Steamer Lane in Santa Cruz, California from Oct. 28 to Nov. 1 and will award one lucky winner a life-changing yearlong O’Neill Wetsuits contract worth $50,000 in travel incentives and contest fees.

Thousands of votes were cast in the public online poll in which 26-year-old Abarca earned a solid 44% of the vote based on his winning video submission. The other three contenders included Leif Engstrom (31%), Kadin Panesi (15%) and Austin Smith-Ford (10%).

Abarca will join the field of 15 other unsponsored surfers invited to compete in the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) Specialty Event. All 16 of the surfers have one thing in common, none has a major sponsor and the $50,000 grand prize could change their life by giving them the rare opportunity to spend a full year competing on the World Qualifying Series (WQS) circuit to chase their World Championship Tour (WCT) dreams.

Special thanks to sponsors and event partners Nexen Tire, Futures Fins, Watermans Sunscreen, Flips Audio, Banzai Bowls, On a Mission, Hotel Paradox, Cruzio Internet, East Side Eatery, Mulcoy Travel, SURFER Magazine and Surfline for supporting the 2014 O’Neill Coldwater Classic Invitational.

Dawn Hamilton

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter