Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Joe Van Dijk & Laura Poncini medal, Australia finishes 3rd at WJSC

Joe Van Dijk © ISA/Gonzales/Tweddle



VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Champs

International Surfing Association
Salinas, Ecuador
5 - 13 April, 2014

Team Australia claims bronze & two individual medals

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 14 April, 2014 - Travelsim Team Australia has finished third while Joe Van Dijk (Phillip Island, VIC - Under 16 Boys) has won the silver medal and Laura Poncini (Moffat Beach, QLD - Under 16 Girls) the bronze medal at the 2014 VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in Ecuador.

The event at Salinas Beach attracted more than 300 of the world’s best Under 18 and Under 16 surfers from 32 countries.

Hawaii won the event on 21,168 points, ahead of France (20,872), followed by Australia (20,628) and the United States (18,418).

In 2-4ft (1-1.5m) surf, Travelsim Team Australia went into the final day sitting in second spot with three surfers – Van Dijk, Poncini and Isabella Nichols (Coolum, QLD – Under 18 Girls) still in contention for a medal.

It was a busy day for Van Dijk and Poncini with both surfing three heats.

Van Dijk finished third in his opening heat but rebounded with a first in the final Repechage heat to qualify for the final. In a tight battle with France’s Leo-Paul Etienne, Van Dijk opened strongly with 6.33 and a 5.53, but couldn’t add to his tally before the Frenchman snatched the final with a late score of 7.27 to defeat the Australian 12.44 to 11.86. Nolan Rapoza (11.57) from the USA was third.

Like Van Dijk, Poncini made a slow start to the day with a third in her first heat but responded with a first in the final heat to qualify for the final. In tough conditions, Hawaii’s Mahina Maeda (10.90) took the title ahead of Leilani McGonagle (Costa Rica, 8.94) and Poncini (7.50).

Nichols was eliminated early in the day after finishing fourth in the last heat before the final to finish in sixth place overall. The Under 18 Girls was won by Hawaii’s Tatiana Weston-Webb. Brazil’s Luan Wood won the Under 18 Boys.

Surfing Australia would like to recognise the Australian Sports Commission (ASC), Travelsim and Be the Influence - Tackling Binge Drinking for their continuing support of the Team Australia Program.

U/18 Boys
9 Monty Tait (Maroubra, NSW)
11 Luke Hynd (Tallebudgera Valley, QLD)
11 Cody Robinson (Jan Juc, VIC)
31 Fraser Dovell (Avalon Beach, NSW)

U/18 Girls
6 Isabella Nichols (Coolum, QLD)
7 Holly Wawn (Newport, NSW)

U/16 Boys
2 Joe Van Dijk (Phillip Island, VIC)
8 Zac Wightman (Lennox Head, NSW)    
11 Quinn Bruce (Coolangatta, QLD)
31 Shaun Manners (Margaret River, WA)

U/16 Girls
3 Laura Poncini (Moffat Beach, QLD)
9 Billie Melinz (Coalcliff, NSW)

Tim Brimblecomb

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter