Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view SurfersVillage.com properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.

zo

Villages:

Having fun enters judging criteria for global grom final in Brazil

 

 

Quiksilver King of the Groms

Fernando De Noronha, Brazil
December 2015

Quiksilver's King of the Groms event riffs on judging format

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 4 January, 2016 - Often, it is about the journey and not the destination. But that’s not true for the King Of The Groms final. The kids set off to one of the most beautiful locations in the world, Fernando De Noronha, Brazil. 

Known as the “Brazilian Hawaii”. The only requirements required for this global KOTG final were progression, creativity and fun. These top 10 international Groms competed in a series of challenges.

Sebastian Williams. A half-Mexican, half-South African miracle completely deserving of the $20,000 winner’s cheque and of the cliched sentiment that he surfs well beyond his years. Airs, rail work, combinations – it’s all there. He will take part now of the Quiksilver team.

In second place, Samuel Pupo came in hot with bleached hair and a fiery frontside swing to claim the $10,000 runner up prize. Like Sebastian, Sammy proves that surfing’s future lies in being an everything-specialist.
 

Quiksilver King Of the Groms

1st - $20,000 : Sebastian Williams

2nd - $10,000 : Samuel Pupo

Airgame $1000 - Samuel Pupo

RailGame - $1000 - Kian Martin 

Combo - $1000 - Sandon Whitaker

Expression Session $1000 - Malakai Martinez

 

 

 

 

As of 2016, Quiksilver his happy to announce the event will come back with a new name: The Quiksilver Young Guns and will be completed with both a Snowboard and a Ski format dedicated to showcase the world’s best future riders.
 

Full list of all groms who participated:

Jordy Collins ( @jordy_collins ) - America

Kael Walsh ( @kaelwalsh ) - Australia

Kian Martin ( @kiansurf ) - Sweden / Bali

Kyuss King @kyussking - Australia

Malakai Martinez ( @mpsmalakai_deez ) – Costa Rica

Samuel Pupo ( @samuel_pupo ) - Brazil

Sandon Whittaker ( @sandonsurf ) - Australia

Sebastian Williams ( @sebastianwilliams1 ) - South Africa

Tane Bowden ( @tanebowden ) - New Zealand

Vitor Mendes ( @vitormendes0 ) – Brazil

 

 

Tags: 
Author: 
Lucy Stephens
Viewed: 
Weight: 
0
 
 

Latest photos

Newsletter

Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter