Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Lack of swell puts Martinique Pro on hold until Friday

Griffin Colapinto © WSL/Poullenot





Martinique Surf Pro

WSL QS3000 Men's & Women's Event
Basse-Pointe, Martinique, France
17 - 24 April 2016

Surfers and organzers will reconvene on Friday 

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 20 April, 2016 - The Men’s QS3,000 Martinique Surf Pro, Stop N°3 on the European and North-American Qualifying Series is on StandBy. A lay day has been called due to insufficient swell on offer at Basse-Pointe today.

Surfers and event officials were greeted with highly inconsistent two-to-three foot waves and low onshore winds on the morning of Day 4 in the event’s waiting period. Competition was postponed to a lunch time call while a little expression session and air-show was organized to keep the locals and visitors entertained. 

Conditions continued to degrade and the call was made to call the event off for a couple of days, with the next decision planned for Friday, 12PM local time.

The 32 remaining competitors will now have two days to regroup, recuperate from the exhausting heat and long days of competitions, as well as discover the many hidden treasures Martinique is full of before the event resumes, probably towards the weekend.

The Martinique Surf Pro is scheduled from April 17-24, 2016 at Basse Pointe, Martinique - France. For all results, photos, video highlights and press releases, log on 

Upcoming Martinique Surf Pro Round of 32 Matchups:
Heat 1: Brett Simpson (USA), Asher Nolan (USA), Alan Donato (BRA), Jesse Mendes (BRA) 

Heat 2: Diego Mignot (FRA), Marco Fernandez (BRA), Ian Gouveia (BRA), Ethan Ewing (AUS) 

Heat 3: Willian Cardoso (BRA), Timothee Bisso (GLP), Joshua Burke (BRB), Deivid Silva (BRA) 

Heat 4: Griffin Colapinto (USA), Hiroto Ohhara (JPN), Charly Martin (GLP), Gony Zubizarreta (ESP) 

Heat 5: Rafael Teixeira (BRA), Jose Ferreira (PRT), Luke Hynd (AUS), Lucca Mesinas Novaro (PER) 

Heat 6: Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Marc Lacomare (FRA), Medi Veminardi (REU), Vasco Ribeiro (PRT) 

Heat 7: Evan Geiselman (USA), Vincent Duvignac (FRA), Aritz Aranburu (ESP), Andy Criere (FRA)  

Heat 8: Seth Moniz (HAW), Santiago Muniz (ARG), Frederico Morais (PRT), Slade Prestwich (ZAF)

Brian Robbins

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter