Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Margaret River claim West Oz leg of Boardriders Battle

Margaret River © Surfing WA/Maxted



Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle

Surfing Australia
Trigg Point, Western Australia
20 November 2015

Margaret River Victorious Over Mandurah

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 21 November, 2015 - Trigg Point, Western Australia - The Margaret River Boardriders Club have dug deep in tricky summer swells off the Perth metropolitan coastline today, claiming an impressive victory at the sixth event of the Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle.

Five of the state’s best boardriding clubs converged on Trigg Point, where a unique and exciting event format saw six surfers from each club going head-to-head across three separate divisions.

A stacked field of current, former and aspiring WA surfing champions revelled at the opportunity to represent their local club. Competitors from right across WA milked every opportunity with hopes of qualifying for the national final in Cronulla, NSW in 2016.

In the small and at times inconsistent surf, Luke Campbell (Trigg Point), Drew Everest (Scarborough), Zak Alexander (Mandurah) and Brad Harrington (Surf Beach) were among some of the best performers for their respective clubs.

However, top honours were reserved for Margaret River’s Jacob Willcox, who made a welcome return to the competition area and seemed to again thrive in it’s environment.

Showing no signs of an ankle injury that interrupted his year, Willcox’s lightening fast forehand and backhand attack proved fatal. Willcox posted the two highest individual scores of the day in the skins division that included a perfect 10 and a 9.50.

“I haven’t surfed at Trigg for a couple of years now I think?” said Willcox. “It hasn’t changed much, but I’m really stoked to have done my part for my club and love the vibe that the teams events bring."

Bronte Macaulay added valuable points to Margaret River’s overall total with victory in the women’s heat. Bringing the form that saw her almost qualify for the 2016 WSL Women’s Championship Tour, Macaulay posted a 17.10 two wave total (from a possible 20). Defeating rising star April McPherson (Mandurah) and former Australian junior champion, Jaala Baldock (Scarborough).

"It's been such a big year form me, I’ve learnt so much and travelled to some amazing place" said Macaulay. "But after all that, it’s just unreal to come home surf for my club, with my dad and some great friends."

The pinnacle of the day’s action was reserved for the teams final, which showed the depth of the WA clubs competing. Combing the best two scores from each surfer, the 60 minute teams final was as hot in the water as the sand was on the beach.

Mandurah posted a combined total of 48.01, ahead of Scarborough on 44.92, and Trigg Point on 29.02. But it was Jacob Willcox, Bronte Macaulay, Jethro Hedstrom, Dave Macaulay, and Jolan Bonelli that scored a combined total of 58.70, to claim back-to-back Australian Boardriders Battle victories.

“We’re stoked to have won today and we can't wait to get over to the national final and fly the flag for WA,” said Willcox.

The Milwaukee Heavy Duty Hack award was presented to Zak Alexander from the Mandurah Boardriders for his amazing combination of style and power. Alexander was the only surfer to have beaten Jacob Willcox throughout the day.

"It’s been a ripper day,” said Alexander. “It’s been small, but hey that’s surf comps and stoked the club performed so strongly.”

The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle Series III will next travel to Victoria and is the country’s biggest grassroots boardriders event series with $110,000 in prize money.

The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle is proudly supported by naming rights partner Original Source and major support partners in Toyota, Nikon, Oakley, Sutherland Shire Council, the World Surf League, XXXX Summer Bright Lager, DrinkWise, Milwaukee, FCS, Surfing Life, Fox Sports, Destination NSW and Boost Mobile.

The series is officially sanctioned by the World Surf League, which allows Australian WSL World Championship Tour surfers (men and women) the opportunity to represent their local boardriders club at respective State qualifying events and the National Final.

In total $110,000 is up for grabs across the entire National Series including the National Final. There is $29,000 available across the eight State qualifying events, while $81,000 will be on offer at the National Final. The winning boardriders club will receive $20,000, while $36,000 will be split between the clubs finishing second to 20th.

Each club team will include one junior (Under 18) surfer, four Open age surfers, and one over 35 surfers. Each team must include one female surfer.

An exciting event format will see club teams battle it out in a Women’s division, five-person Teams’ division and a Skins competition.  The National Final will include a lucrative, winner-take-all Skins format across 12 heats with a $1000 jackpot in each heat. For the first time this year, the top four clubs following the Skins, Women’s and Teams events will contest a Grand Final involving a one-hour heat similar to the Teams relay format to decide the 2016 Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle champion.

The Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle also includes a $61,000 Monster Raffle giveaway with one lucky ticket holder to drive away in a new Toyota RAV4 valued at $55,000. Other prize packs will be provided by Milwaukee, Original Source, Oakley, FCS, Nikon and Boost Mobile. The Monster Raffle is open to all Surfing Australia affiliated boardriders clubs with proceeds returning to the boardriders club community.



1: Margaret River - 7900 Points & $2,000

2: Mandurah - 6825 Points & $500

3: Trigg Point - 5562 Points

4: Scarborough - 5250 Points

5: Surf Beach  - 4874 Points

Justin Majeks

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter