Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Massive swell warrants safety vests for Tahiti

Matt Wilkinson © ASP/Kirstin Scholtz



Billabong Pro Tahiti

ASP Men's World Tour Championship Event
Teahupo'o Tahiti
15 - 26 August 2014

Massive swell predicted for Tahiti, could be swell of decade 

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 17 August, 2014 - The Billabong Pro Tahiti is set to launch this week, with monstrous waves predicted to broadside the most feared and famous tropical reef pass in all of surfing. 

Red Bull Surfing reports that safety meetings have been held and it looks as if flotation vests will be made available to the surfers, for easier retrieval by the water patrol in case things go awry.

All things are pointing to Monday being the day of reckoning, though don't be surprised if some heats are run late on Sunday as the leading edge of the swell starts to arrive. 

"Slight increase in surf this morning but we're anticipating the real pulse to begin filling in this afternoon and through tomorrow," Kieren Perrow, ASP Commissioner, said. "As such, we've placed the event on standby this morning and expect to commence competition tomorrow. With the swell picking up this afternoon, it will be a great opportunity for the surfers to get another warm-up in before it gets serious tomorrow."

Surfline, official surf forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, are confidently predicting excellent conditions in the days ahead and have called for:

The surf will be on the rise this afternoon, although the bulk of the new swell will arrive on Monday with solid surf. Tuesday will see a temporary easing trend, although will remain good size. Another strong SW swell is on track for Wednesday afternoon/Thursday. We're tracking more swells for Friday PM/Saturday and Monday/Tuesday.

Event organizers will reconvene at 7.30 a.m. on Monday, August 18 to make the next call.

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Kelly Slater (USA), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Glenn Hall (IRL)
Heat 2: Michel Bourez (PYF), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Mitch Coleborn (AUS)
Heat 5: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Nathan Hedge (AUS)
Heat 6: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Mitch Crews (AUS), Taumata Puhetini (PYF)
Heat 7: Adriano De Souza (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Dion Atkinson (AUS)
Heat 8: Nat Young (USA), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 9: Kolohe Andino (USA), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Heat 10: Josh Kerr (AUS), Julian Wilson (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 11: Owen Wright (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 12: Jordy Smith (ZAF), John John Florence (HAW), Kai Otton (AUS)


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter