Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Mick & Tyler named Surfers of the Year in Oz

Mick Fanning © Surfing Australia



Surf Culture

Tony 'Doris' Eltherington wins Waterman of the Year

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 13 February, 2014 - Manly - It was huge night in Manly with Australian Surfing Awards honouring Mick Fanning, Tyler Wright and others. Also on tap was the Nikon Surf Photo of the Year award which went to Luke Shadbolt.

Surfing Australia Life Membership was awarded to Victorian Mal Gregson for his many dedicated years of service to Surfing Australia. Mal was a tireless worker not just for the organisation but for the sport in general in Australia for more than three decades.

Three-time ASP World Champion Mick Fanning was named Male Surfer of the Year, while ASP Women’s World No.2 Tyler Wright was named Female Surfer of the Year. The Rising Star Award was won by Victoria’s Nikki Van Dijk who makes her debut this year on the ASP Women’s World Championship Tour.

The Waterman of the Year Award was won by Tony ‘Doris’ Eltherington following his miracle rescue of South African surfer Brett Archibald who had fallen overboard off Indonesia and considered lost at sea.

Eltherington, who pioneered surfing in many parts of Indonesia and the Pacific Ocean and is synonymous with the surf charter industry, also won the Peter Troy Lifestyle Award for the person who has given their life over to surfing and in doing so has enriched the surfing culture around him.


Libby Troy & Tony Elthrington © Surfing Australia


The ASB Surfing Spirit Award for a project or campaign that has given back to surfing through charitable, humanitarian, environmental or philanthropic pursuits was won by National Surfing Reserves for its dedication to recognising iconic surfing sites around Australia.

The Surf Culture Award for a project that captures and explores a quintessential element of Australian surfing culture was won by TC, the autobiography written by two-time World Champion Tom Carroll and his brother Nick. 

The Simon Anderson Club Award went to Merewether Surfboard Club following their hugely successful 2013.

Luke Shadbolt’s photo of a surfer’s excitement at an exploding wave in Brazil won the Nikon Surf Photo of the Year and Missing, the film following World Champion Mick Fanning, was named Nikon Surf Movie of the Year.

Tasmanian big-wave champion Marti Paradisis was the inaugural winner of the Original Source Intense Surf Challenge ahead of South Australia’s Josiah Schmucker. The six-month long, digital, interactive big-wave competition garnered a huge following through the site with more than 120,000 views of contestants’ entries. Paradisis won $30,000 for his efforts and promptly gave $5000 to Schmucker, who had already collected $5000 as runner-up.

"Marti is an extremely talented surfer and we are delighted to crown him as our Original Source Intense Surf Challenge Champion,” said Constantine Gendis, Managing Director PZ Cussons. “We believe in celebrating the world’s most intense natural experiences and the response from all the voters shows just how captivating the world of big wave surfing is. All 15 finalists have a huge amount of skill and we'd like to thank them all for sharing their passion with us over the last six months."

The Australian Surfing Awards incorporating the Hall of Fame is proudly supported by the NSW Government, through Destination NSW, and is a key event on the NSW Events Calendar.


Australian Surfing Hall of Fame Inductee: Col Smith
Male Surfer of the Year: Mick Fanning
Female Surfer of the Year: Tyler Wright
Surfing Australia Life Membership: Mal Gregson
Rising Star: Nikki Van Dijk
Waterman of the Year: Tony ‘Doris’ Eltherington
ASB Surfing Spirit Award: National Surfing Reserves
Peter Troy Lifestyle Award: Tony ‘Doris’ Eltherington
Surf Culture Award: TC by Tom Carroll and Nick Carroll
Simon Anderson Club Award: Merewether Surfboard Club
Nikon Surf Movie of the Year: Missing
Nikon Surf Photo of the Year: Luke Shadbolt
Original Source Intense Surf Challenge Winner: Marti Paradisis

The Australian Surfing Awards is also supported by the Australian Sports Commission, Nikon, Destination NSW, Original Source, Travelsim, Australasian Surf Business Magazine and the Federal Government’s Illicit Drugs in Sport Program.

Tim Brimblecombe

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter