Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



New Zealand team named for ISA Worlds this May

Ben Poulter : photo ISA

Team News

Team named for 2011 Quiksilver ISA World Surfing Championships in May

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 23 December, 2010 : - - Surfing New Zealand has today announced a squad of twenty one surfers in preparation for the 2011 Quiksilver ISA World Surfing Championship which takes place in Peru during May 2011.

The squad includes surfers from several regions throughout New Zealand with Gisborne and Auckland providing four surfers each as the most powerful regions. Coromandel and Mount Maunganui fill three slots each while Northland and Waikato surfers fill two slots and a surfer a piece from Hawkes Bay, Taranaki and Christchurch.

The build up to the world championship event in May will be extensive with multiple national events taking place every month from January through until April giving surfers extensive opportunities to press for selection. The squad will also meet for a selection camp before the travelling team is named in March and further preparations take place.

"We have three major events where we will get to have a look at contenders in the Under 18 Divisions and six events where we will get to see those surfers under the age of 16" said National Selector Ben Kennings. The extensive national events programme will be complemented by a selection camp in late January where the selected squad of surfers will be able to further push their cause for national representation.

A three-prong management team has also been announced for the 2011 tour to Peru. Surfing New Zealand Development Manager Lee Ryan (Mnt) will head the team with Michael Fitzharris (Gis) as Coach and Anna Jolly (Auck) as Assistant Manager/Coach.

Fitzharris has been busy putting systems in place to help bring the best out of the squad that was named today. "We will be looking to meet the needs of the squad by using communication tools such as Facebook, text and other valuable new technology to share information and resources amongst the squad on a regular basis" said Fitzharris. "Increasing contact will ultimately better prepare our team come time to compete against the best in the world in May.

Anna Jolly comes into the management mix as the first female in ten years. Jolly, an ex national champion herself, will provide valuable support to the female squad members in the build up to the event and while competing overseas. Both her and Fitzharris come from teaching backgrounds while Jolly is also a sports coordinator at Green Bay College.

Key dates:
24th - 25th January - Squad selection camp, Mount Maunganui
1st March - New Zealand Junior Surfing Team announced
18th - 19th April - Team Training Camp, Venue TBC
21st - 29th May - 2011 Quiksilver ISA World Surfing Championship, Peru

The New Zealand Junior Surfing Squad is as follows:

Under 18 Boys
Ben Poulter (Rag)
Jacob Kohn (Gis)
Joe Moretti (Mimiwhangata)
Sam Courtney (Chch)
Sid West (Auck)
Tane Wallis (Piha)
Todd Doyle (Mnt)
Tyler Lawson (HBay)

Under 18 Girls
Alexis Poulter (Rag)
Ella Williams (WGM)
Grace Spiers (WGM)
Jayda Martin-Fitzharris (Gis)
Rosa Thompson (Auck)
Sarah Mason (Gis)

Under 16 Boys
Adam Grimson (Gis)
Dune Kennings (WGM)
Elliot Paerata - Reid (Piha)
Paul Moretti (Mimiwhangata)
Peri Matenga (Mnt)
Sean Kettle (Tara)
Waretini Wano (Piha)

Team Manager: Lee Ryan (Mnt)
Team Coach: Michael Fitzharris (Gis)
Team Assistant Manager/Coach: Anna Jolly (Auck)

The World Junior Surfing Championships is an annual event having been held since 2003. New Zealand has competed at the event since its inception as well as competing at the World Grommet Titles as it was formerly known since 1989. New Zealand has been one of the top nations at each event with Jay Quinn (Gis) securing New Zealand's first World Championship in the Under 18 Men's division in 2001. In 2010 the New Zealand team placed seventh at the event when it was held in New Zealand for the first time in the events history.

Prior to the main event the team will meet South Africa to contest the annually run 'SANZ' Trophy held between the two teams. South Africa currently holds the trophy after winning it in 2010 at Piha. The two teams will fine tune their competitive strategies only days out from the main event. The unique trophy that is up for grabs is made out of a solid pounamu base with paua inlay and a surfboard made out of South African hardwood.

Further Information: For further information on the New Zealand Junior Surfing Squad please contact Surfing New Zealand's Ben Kennings on 021 2278732 or email

What's your take on this?
Post your thoughts: SV Forum

New Survey: Map Surfing’s future 

More Australasian Surfing News available here
Check the latest Australasian Surf Reports and Forecasts

New! B2B News ASBE-Surf   |  Receive News-Alerts

Ben Kennings

Team - Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter