Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Nine longboard titles taken in New South Wales

Phil Roxburgh © Smith/SNSW




Australian Skin Cancer Clinics NSW Longboard Titles

Surfing New South Wales
Thirroul Beach, NSW, Australia
23 - 25 June 2016

Champions crowned as Australian Skin Cancer Clinics wraps up

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 25 June, 2016 - Bellambi Beach, New South Wales - The Australian Skin Cancer Clinics NSW Longboard Titles presented by HIF saw nine new NSW champions crowned after an exciting day of action in picture-perfect two-foot righthanders at Bellambi.
Robbie Page (Verges Creek) made sure the pilgrimage back to Bellambi - the location he grew up surfing - was well worth it, taking out the Over-35 Mens division. The former Pipeline Master and Australian Indigenous Champion performed a variety of massive backside and frontside turns to claim the title ahead of fellow event standout Brad Whittaker (Cronulla) who took out the runner-up position.
However, Whittaker was able to claim a title when he posted a solid 15.77 heat total (out of a possible 20 points) to take the top honours in the Over-40 Mens final. Whittaker and multiple Australian and NSW Champion Jason Livingston (Curl Curl) went neck and neck for the title with both surfers posting a variety of excellent scores, however Whittaker was able to claim the title by a 1.11 margin.
Charlie O’Sullivan (Woolgoolga) posted an impressive 13.70 heat total to claim the Over-45 Mens title. O’Sullivan performed a chain of eclectic backside snaps to take the win ahead of Over-35s Champion Robbie Page.
John Fraser (Rushcutters Bay) didn’t let the small waves slow him down, notching up a 14.17 heat total to claim the Over-50 Mens division. Fraser threw down a barrage of massive turns to claim the title ahead Over-45s Mens Champion Charlie O’Sullivan.
John Skinner (Warilla) claimed a title for the local Illawarra surfing contingent taking out the Over-50 Mens title. Skinner posted an 11.90 heat total to claim the win ahead of Mark Ingelby (Emerald Beach) who finished in second position.
John Murray (Valery) fought a valiant battle in the Over-60 Mens final, locking in 7.07 and a 6.17. The natural-footer smacked out several powerful turns to take the victory ahead of Phil Roxburgh (Cowra), Lenny Girdler (Port Macquarie) and George Watts (Bonny Hills) who claimed second, third and fourth respectively.
Danny Bond (Blue Bay) added another NSW Title to his overflowing mantelpiece taking out the Over-65 Mens. The 71-year-old Central Coast surfer put on an impressive display of nose-rides and turns to claim the win ahead of 2015 Champion Alan Atkins (Byron Bay).
Amanda O’Connor (Cronulla) managed to snatch the win in the Over-35 Womens division. The Cronulla goofy-footer threw down a variety of backside snaps to be crowned NSW champion. Despite locking in an impressive 11.17 heat total, Vivienne Cresswell (Narrabeen) had to settle for second place.
Robert Lumby (Woonoona) was the lone local to claim a title at the Australian Skin Cancer Clinics NSW Longboard Titles presented by HIF, taking out the Over-40 Logs. Lumby performed a wide array of traditional turns to ensure a title remained in the region.
Over 100 longboarders competed in the three-day event, which decided the NSW Longboard Champions in all senior age divisions and determined the NSW Team for the upcoming Australian Surfing Festival in Coffs Harbour in August.
2016 was the first year Surfing NSW has split apart the longboard divisions with the elder divisions running at the Australian Skin Cancer Clinics NSW Longboard Titles presented by HIF.
The Australian Skin Cancer Clinics NSW Longboard Titles presented by HIF are proudly supported by Australian Skin Cancer Clinics, HIF, Toyota, Coastalwatch Plus, Destination Wollongong, Wollongong City Council, Wollongong Tourist Parks, Ohana Ocean Athletics and Surfing NSW.
Over-35 Men
1 – Robbie Page (Verges Creek)
2 – Brad Whittaker (Cronulla)
3 – Dane Randall (Mona Vale)
4 – John Skinner (Warilla)
5 – Michael Crisp (Ballina)
6 – Michael Thompson

Over-40 Men
1 – Brad Whittaker (Cronulla)
2 – Jason Livingston (Curl Curl)
3 – John Fraser (Rushcutters Bay)
4 – Sean Dry (Dee Why)

Over-45 Men
1 – Charlie O’Sullivan (Woolgoolga)
2 – Robbie Page (Verges Creek)
3 – Jason Livingston (Curl Curl)
4 – Sean Dry (Dee Why)

Over-50 Men
1 – John Fraser (Rushcutters Bay)
2 – Charlie O’Sullivan (Woolgoolga)
3 – Robert Smith (Caringbah)
4 – Tony Rae (Hastings Point)

Over-55 Men
1 – John Skinner (Warilla)
2 – Mark Ingleby (Emerald Beach)
3 – Michael Thompson
4 – Ross Murphy (St. Georges Basin)

Over-60 Men
1 – John Murray (Valery)
2 – Phil Roxburgh (Cowra)
3 – Lenny Girdler (Port Macquarie)
4 – George Watts (Bonny Hills)

Over-65 Men
1 – Danny Bond (Blue Bay)
2 – Alan Atkins (Byron Bay)
3 – Rob Menzies (Cronulla)
4 – Phil Nichol (Manly)

Over-35 Women
1 - Amanda O’Connor (Cronulla)
2 – Vivienne Creswell (Narrabeen)
3 – Sam Wilson (Woodburn)

Over-40 Logs
1 – Robert Lumby (Woonoona)
2 – Charlie O’Sullivan (Woolgoolga)
3 – Ross Murphy (St. Georges Basin)
4 – Bernard Fenasse (Warriewood)

Ethan Smith

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter