Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Online vote to determine Clash of the Legends

Sunny Garcia © ASP/Cestari

Reef Clash of the Legends

Fans to decide Reef Clash of the Legends lineup

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 11 October, 2013 : - - As Reef readies to bring the Reef Hawaiian Pro to Haleiwa on the North Shore of Oahu for its seventh straight year, anticipation is also building for the brand's Reef Clash of the Legends signature event with a new spin.

The Reef Clash of the Legends is a specialty event that runs in conjunction with the Reef Hawaiian Pro, the first gem of the Van's Triple Crown. This year, Reef will select nine legendary global surfers based on competitive, free surf and Hawaiian water accolades. Starting on October 14, fans can go to and vote for their favorite legends. Six will get to the next round of voting, which starts on October 21. On October 28, Reef will announce the final four Clash of the Legends competitors.

"Surfing runs through our veins here at Reef and we couldn't decide which legends to choose for the specialty event, so we thought, 'why not let the public vote for their favorite legends?' We can't wait to see the outcome," said PJ Connell, Reef's marketing director.

Fans will get to vote on much-loved competitors who have truly embodied the sport of surfing including Lisa Andersen, Matt Archbold, Tom Curren, Brad Gerlach, Michael Ho, Derek Ho, Mark Occhilupo, Kaipo Jaquias and Martin Potter.

Because of his current status as Clash of the Legends champ, Sunny Garcia has been granted an automatic entry into the 2013 event. Raised on Oahu's West Side, Garcia came on the scene in 1986 with a win over Tom Carroll at the Gotcha Pro at Sandy Beach. Garcia won six Triple Crown titles and the ASP World Title in 2000. He continues to be a force each Hawaiian season at 44 years old.

"Just wanted to say how excited I am to be back defending the Clash of the Legends against this list of surfers, get online and vote for your favorite," said Sunny Garcia.

Reef's Hawaiian Clash of the Legends began in 2010 when Sunny Garcia bested Curren, Occhilupo and Tom Carroll for the win. In 2011, Ross Williams won the Clash of the Legends Momentum Generation Edition over Reef's style guru Rob Machado and big wave pioneer Shane Dorian, as well as Kalani Robb. Garcia once again claimed the Clash in 2012 against 80s counterparts Curren, Occhilupo and Jaquias.

The Reef Hawaiian Pro, slated for November 12-23 at Alii Beach Park in the town of Haleiwa on the North Shore of Hawaii, is an Association of Surfing Professionals PRIME event, which will have a critical outcome for surfers looking to qualify for the elite 2014 ASP World Tour. The Reef Hawaiian Pro also offers a $250,000 purse.

The Reef Clash of the Legends voting will begin October 14th, 2013 via

Source: Reef

Author: Lindy Williams

Tags: Reef, Clash of the Legends, Reef Hawaiian Pro

Legends: Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter