Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Peter Devries wins Rip Curl Pro Tofino

Peter Devries © Rip Curl

Rip Curl Pro Tofino

Canadian Surfing Association
Cox Bay Tofino, British Columbia Canada
1 - 2 June 2013

Peter Devries claims victory at the Rip Curl Pro Tofino

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 3 June, 2013 : - - Defending champion Peter Devries reclaimed victory on Sunday at the Rip Curl Pro Tofino. Waves and weather conditions came together perfectly bringing more spectators than ever to watch Canada’s top surfers battle in the final heats of the championship at Cox Bay. Four-time champion Devries surfed against top ranked Canadian professionals Noah Cohan, Sepp Bruhwiler and Australian Ben Murphy.

The final four moved through three rounds, beating out more than 40 other surfers who came to the beach to compete for the $12,500 prize purse – the largest prize purse in Canada.

“In earlier rounds Devries looked beatable, but when it came to the final heat he hit another gear, [maximizing] scoring potential to seal the Rip Curl Pro Tofino crown for the fifth time,” said Contest Director and Canadian Surfing Association President Dom Domic. “He has solidified his dominance in the Canadian surf scene with this win alongside his Cold Water Classic win up against the world’s best in 2009.”

Recently sanctioned by the Canadian Surfing Association (CSA), the Rip Curl Pro Tofino is now the official Canadian Surfing Championship. For the first time, this weekend’s event has delivered a national champion in each division including Pro Men, Pro Women, Masters, Men’s Longboard, and Women’s Longboard, and junior divisions.

Pro Men:

1st – Peter Devries
2nd – Sepp Bruhwiler
3rd – Noah Cohen
4th - Ben Murphy
Pro Women:
1st – Sara Taylor
2nd – Catherine Bruhwiler
3rd – Hanna Scott
4th – Leah Oke
Men’s Longboard:
1st – Ollie Atkey
2nd – Reid Jackson
3rd - Robbie Ferguson
4th – Leo Dasilva
Women’s Longboard:
1st – Emily Ballard
2nd – Hanna Scott
3rd - Sherrie Houghton
4th – Leah Oke
1st – Raph Bruhwiler
2nd – Greg Urata
3rd – Jens Kalwa
4th – Catherine Bruhwiler
Under 16 Boys:
1st – Dylan Lee
2nd – Kalum Bruhwiler
3rd – Freddy Sanford
4th – Jesse Clarkson
Under 12 Boys:
1st – Freddy Sanford
2nd – Reed Platenius
3rd – Connor Alexander
4th – Aiden Sutherland
Under 12 Girls:
1st – Keanna Hasz
2nd – Chloe Platenius
3rd – Sofia Bruhwiler
4th – Abbi Venizelos-Warren 

Source: Rip Curl

Author:  Myrosha Daley

Tags: Tofino, Canada, Rip Curl

Contests: Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter