Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Portugal prime event calls a Lay Day at Cascais

Praia de Carcavelos © ASP/Masurel

Cascais Billabong Pro

ASP Prime Men's Event
Praia de Carcavelos, Cascais Portugal
21 - 27 October 2013

Live Coverage  Results/Photos/Videos etc

Small, choppy surf holds off Day 1 of ASP Prime Cascais Billabong Pro 

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 21 October, 2013 : - - Praia de Carcavelos, Cascais Portugal - Small windy surf in the one-to-two foot (0.5 metre) range at praia de Carcavelos forced contest officials to call OFF day 1 of the ASP Prime Cascais Billabong Pro.

Event No. 6 of 8 on the 2013 ASP Prime Series, the Cascais Billabong Pro is set to play an important role in the qualification race towards next year’s World Championship Tour. This event will also conclude the European leg of events and determine our ASP regional Champion.

“We have very small surf on offer this morning and strong onshore winds, so we had to call competition off for the day,” Rob Gunning, ASP Europe Tour Manager said. “This event is crucial to all surfers and we want to make sure we have them surf the best possible conditions we’ll see this week.”

Event organizers and surfers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 8am to re-assess conditions for a possible start of the opening round of competition. Up first when competition commences will be Filipe Toledo (BRA), Charles Martin (GLP), Cooper Chapman (USA) and Vasco Ribeiro (PRT).

The ASP Prime Cascais Pro is scheduled from October 21-27, 2013 in Cascais, Portugal. For all results, photos, video highlights, press releases and LIVE webcast, log on to

The Cascais Pro is supported by the Cascais City Council, Turismo de Portugal, Moche, EDP, Buondi, Allianz, Jogos, Mini, Brisa, Hertz, Comboios de Portugal, TakeOFF, RTP, Cidade FM, FuelTV, Go-S.TV, Jornal i, Surf Onfire, Magicseaweed, Surf Europe and BeachCam among others.

 Heat 1: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Charles Martin (GLP), Cooper Chapman (USA), Vasco Ribeiro 
 Heat 2: Willian Cardoso (BRA), Peterson Crisanto (BRA), Evan Geiselman, Ricardo Christie 
 Heat 3: Mitch Crews (AUS), Matt Banting (AUS), Carlos Munoz (CRI), Steven Pierson (PYF)
 Heat 4: Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Mason Ho (HAW), Ezekiel Lau (HAW), Nic Von Rupp (DEU)
 Heat 5: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY), Vincent Duvignac (FRA), Jose Ferreira 
 Heat 6: Aritz Aranburu (EUK), Ramzi Boukhiam (MAR), Thomas Woods (AUS), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
 Heat 7: Marc Lacomare (FRA), Stu Kennedy (AUS), Tim Reyes (USA), Davey Cathels (AUS)
 Heat 8: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Conner Coffin (USA), Garrett Parkes (AUS), Romain Cloitre (FRA)
 Heat 9: Damien Hobgood (USA), Joan Duru (FRA), Ryan Callinan (AUS), Gabe Kling (USA)
 Heat 10: Miguel Pupo (BRA), Maxime Huscenot (FRA), Hodei Collazo (EUK), Cory Arrambide
 Heat 11: Tomas Hermes (BRA), Jay Thompson (AUS), Vicente Romero (ESP), Marlon Lipke 
 Heat 12: C.J Hobgood (USA), Tom Whitaker (AUS), Dale Staples (ZAF), Tomas Fernandes 
 Heat 13: Michel Bourez (PYF), Wade Carmichael (AUS), Kiron Jabour (HAW), Ruben Gonzalez
 Heat 14: Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Granger Larsen (HAW), Heitor Alves (BRA), Gabriel Villaran 
 Heat 15: Alejo Muniz (BRA), David Do Carmo (BRA), Nathan Yeomans (USA), Gony Zubizarreta 
 Heat 16: Brett Simpson (USA), Nathan Hedge (AUS), Billy Stairmand (NZL), Torrey Meister 
 Heat 17: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Keanu Asing (HAW), Marco Fernandez, Cody Thompson
 Heat 18: Jadson Andre (BRA), Caio Ibelli (BRA), Perth Standlick (AUS), Jack Freestone (AUS)
 Heat 19: Mitchel Coleborn (AUS), Tanner Gudauskas (USA), Chris Ward (USA), Frederico Morais 
 Heat 20: Travis Logie (ZAF), Jesse Mendes (BRA), Hizunome Bettero (BRA), Nathaniel Curran 
 Heat 21: Adam Melling (AUS), Brian Toth (PRI), Krystian Kymerson (BRA), Kaito Ohashi (JPN)
 Heat 22: Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Thiago Camarao (BRA), Michael Dunphy 
 Heat 23: Dion Atkinson (AUS), Beyrick De Vries (ZAF), Messias Felix (BRA), Santiago Muniz 
 Heat 24: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Dillon Perillo (USA), Jean Da Silva (BRA), Dusty Payne (HAW)

Previous reports:
# 1 : 20 of Top 34 will surf in Portugal prime event
# 2 : Coming Soon
# 3 :
Coming Soon
# 4 : Coming Soon

Source: ASP Europe

Author: Nicolas Leroy

Tags: Cascais, Prime, European Tour

ASP Prime: Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter