Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Pro Zarautz kick off delayed due to heavy winds and rain

Zarautz during better conditions © WSL / Aquashot




Pro Zarautz

WSL QS1000 Men's & Women's Event
Zarautz, Basque Country
31 March - 3 April, 2016

Surfers and contest officials will reconvene Friday with a call for the men only

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 31 March, 2016 - Strong onshore winds and heavy rain have forced contest officials to delay the start of the Pro Zarautz, Stop N°2 on the 2016 European Qualifying Series.

“Event organisers and head judge have decided to call competition off for today,” Rob Gunning, European Tour Manager said. “Conditions are really tough at the moment and expected to get worse during the day. We have the next three days looking very good for both swell and weather which we are excited about.”

A strong field of over 100 surfers men and women combined have converged to beautiful Zarautz for the return of professional surfing in the area since 2012. With ambassadors such as local hero Aritz Aranburu leading the field, an enthusiastic local crowd will eagerly await the start of competition.

Surfers and contest officials will reconvene Friday at 8:15AM with a call for the men only, women surfers being invited to check-in again on Saturday morning, time TBD.

The Pro Zarautz is scheduled from March 31 - April 3, 2016 at Zarautz, Basque Country - Spain. 

Heat 1: David Watkins (NZL), Joshua Braddock (GBR), Thomas La Fonta (FRA) 

Heat 2: Enzo Cavallini (GLP), Martin Cortijo Gonzalez (ESP), Adrian Zorriketa (EUK), Lens Arancibia  

Heat 3: Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY), Gearoid McDaid (IRL), Kilian God (FRA), Jakob Lilienweiss (DEU) 

Heat 4: Frederico Magalhaes (PRT), David Noy (ISR), Jose Maria de Paz (ESP), Kasperi Turkia (FIN) 

Heat 5: Roberto D'Amico (ITA), Ely Cassirer (ISR), Francisco Carrasco (PRT)

Heat 6: Jose Ferreira (PRT), Ignacio Guisasola (ESP), Marco Mignot (FRA), Jack Keenan (GBR) 

Heat 7: Aldric God (FRA), Titouan Boyer (MAF), Iker Amatriain (ESP), David Mugica (ESP) 

Heat 8: Luis Perloiro (PRT), Adil El Harrif (MAR), Gaspard Larsonneur (FRA), Roberto Letemendia 

Heat 9: Juan Fernandez (ESP), Kalani Da Silva (CNY), Francisco Da Silva Duarte (PRT) 

Heat 10: Dylan Christensen (USA), Leo Paul Etienne (GLP), Imanol Geledan (FRA), Ruben Vitoria 

Heat 11: Eduardo Fernandes (PRT), Dani Gonzalez (ESP), Bryan Picon (FRA), Angus Scotney (GBR) 

Heat 12: Guilherme Fonseca (PRT), Thomas Bady (FRA), Indar Unanue (EUK), Asier Iriondo (EUK) 

Heat 13: Alexander El Naib (DEU), Pedro Coelho (PRT), Arran Strong (GBR) 

Heat 14: Pedro Henrique (PRT), Ian Fontaine (FRA), Alex Bauduin (CNY), Yael Pena (CNY) 

Heat 15: Norman Landa (EUK), Luis Diaz (CNY), Eño James (GBR), Ignacio Baru (URY)

Heat 16: Henrique Pyrrait (PRT), Leon Glatzer (DEU), Karlos Gomez (EUK), Gonzalo Gutierrez (ESP) 

Heat 1: Carol Henrique (PRT), Camilla Kemp (PRT), Uhaina Joly (FRA) 
Heat 2: Evelyn Gontier (ARG), Peony Knight (GBR), Nadia Erostarbe (EUK), Néis Lartigue
Heat 3: Ariane Ochoa (EUK), Yolanda Aneiros (ESP), Lucy Campbell (GBR) 
Heat 4: Keshia Seelow-Eyre (GBR), Anne-Cécile Le Tallec (FRA), Maddi Aizpurua (EUK)

Pro Zarautz 2016, Basq Country, Stop N°2, European Qualifying Series
Nicolas Leroy

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter