Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Seal Point Boardriders lay claim to Interclub Championships

Crystal Hulett of the Seal Point Boardriders © Kody Mc Gregor




2016 Billabong South African Interclub Champs

Surfing South Africa
Seal Point, Cape St Francis South Africa
13 - 14 February 2016

Seal Point Boardriders B Team in Form Throughout the Event

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 15 February, 2016 - Seal Point, Cape St. Francis - The Seal Point Boardriders Surf Club B Team has won the 2016 Billabong SA Interclub Surfing Championships at their home break. The Seal Point Boardriders won the title in Jeffreys Bay last year which earned them the right to not only host the event but also enter two teams.

Guided once again by legendary coach Graham Hynes the Seal Point B Team made an impression throughout and in the end the combination of Ricky Basnett, Dale Staples, Jonno Hill, Simon Fish and Crystal Hulett proved to be too good for their opponents as they posted 161 points to take the title for the second year in a row.

2015 runners up, CYOH Surf Club of Port Elizabeth, made up of Grant Beck, Remi Petersen, Bruce Campbell, Alex Van Rijswijck and Kia Fenton scored 156,2 points to take second spot once again while the Melkbos based West Coast Boardriders team of Tristan Lev, Diran Zakarian, Ryan Payne, Gerrit Frylinck and Dorette Oosthuizen posted 138,3 points to take third place for the second year in a row.

The Port Elizabeth based Madibaz (NMMU) Surf Club comprising Jean Du Plessis, Dane Cox, Brandon Stockwell, Kyle Rubin and Roxy Giles were fourth.

A great performance by the SWOT Surf Club from Muizenberg saw them finish joint 5th with 2013 champions JBay Boardriders while some inspired surfing by the Sisonke Surf Club from KZN saw them ending 7th alongside 2014 champions, the JBU Surf Club of Jeffreys Bay.

Seal Point A, the JBay Surf Club, the Maties Surf Club and the Joburg Boardriders, who made history as the first ever inland based surf club to compete in the annual Interclub championships, finished joint 9th in a record field of 18 teams from 16 clubs.  .

The event was hosted by the Seal Point Boardriders in good 3 -4 foot Seal Point beach break surf. They now have the right to chose a venue for next year’s tournament which will be held on the second weekend of February.

Seal Point, South African Interclub Champs, billabong, Surfing South Africa, Cape St. Francis
Robin de Kock

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter