Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Sebastian Zietz adds yet another win

Seabass © Nixon

Nixon WTA Triple Crown

Sebastian Zietz wins 2012 Nixon WTA Triple Crown and takes home $10,000 watch

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 18 December, 2012 : - - The last stop of the 2012 Nixon WTA (winner-takes-all) has wrapped up on the North Shore of Oahu with the Billabong Pipe Masters finale. It was Kauai’s 24-year old Sebastian 'Seabass' Zietz who conquered as the winner of the 2012 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing, which also earned him Nixon’s WTA title as well.
Zietz had a solid streak starting with a 1st place win at the Reef Hawaiian Pro, and 3rd at the Vans World Cup at Sunset, charging through into the quarterfinals of the Billabong Pipe Masters In Memory of Andy Irons. As the winner of the 30th anniversary Triple Crown title and Nixon 2012 WTA, Zietz is taking home a custom one-of-a-kind Nixon watch valued over $10,000.
This year’s 2012 Nixon WTA Overall Triple Crown Winner watch features a custom, all black ceramic 51-30 with over 200 white diamonds adorned on the bezel, crown, and indices. The winner’s watch also features an automatic Swiss-made movement, sapphire crystal, and an etched Hawaiian flag positioned at the 6 o’clock hour marker.
The previous events that led up to the 4th and final stop of the 2012 Nixon WTA series included contests for Biggest Air in Rio de Janeiro, Highest Heat Score in J-Bay and Heaviest Wave in Teahupoo. The Nixon WTA looks to celebrate crowning achievements and standout moments during ASP (Association of Surfing Professionals) events that may otherwise go uncelebrated.
On his road to victory, Zietz took the highest heat score in Round 2 of the pumping six to eight-foot waves at the Pipe Masters event, which led to his Triple Crown victory. This is a major surfing career milestone for the Kilauea native, who also won the Reef Hawaiian Pro and qualified for the first time for the upcoming 2013 elite ASP World Tour.

Previous Nixon WTA Triple Crown Winners include:
2007 - WTA Triple Crown Winner - Bede Durbidge - Vans Triple Crown Winner
2008 - WTA Triple Crown Winner - Joel Parkinson - Vans Triple Crown Winner
2009 - WTA Triple Crown Winner - Joel Parkinson - Vans Triple Crown Winner
2010 - WTA Triple Crown Winner - Joel Parkinson - Vans Triple Crown Winner
2011 - WTA Triple Crown Winner - John John Florence - Vans Triple Crown Winner

Source: Nixon

Author: Angelique Coueraud

Tags: Winner Take All, Nixon, Vans Triple Crown of Surfing

WTA: Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter