Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Small surf at Jeffreys Bay prompts call for a Lay Day

Mick Fanning © WSL/Cestari




J Bay Open

WSL CT Men's & Women's Event
Supertube, Jeffrey's Bay, South Africa
8 - 19 July 2015

2' - 3', light onshore wind - next call 7:30 a.m. tomorrow

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 9 July, 2015 - Jeffreys Bay - A second lay day has been called at the J-Bay Open, stop No. 6 on the 2015 Samsung Galaxy World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT), with only small surf on offer at Jeffreys Bay.

"It's pretty junky out there this morning and the East wind has really shredded it," Kieren Perrow, WSL Commissioner said. "There are some little waves out there today but nothing great so we are off today and we'll be back tomorrow to take another look. We are expecting a bump in conditions tomorrow but the wind conditions might be a little tricky".

When competition commences, up first will be Taj Burrow (AUS), Michel Bourez (PYF) and Brett Simpson (USA) in the opening heat of Round 1. Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning to assess conditions and make the next call.

Surfline, official forecaster for the World Surf League, are calling for: A mix of swells from a variety of directions and swell periods will continue through the end of the week. Unfortunately, onshore E wind will also prevail Thur/Fri to put some bump on the moderate swell mix. Saturday will see easing swell, with wind conditions possibly improving in the afternoon (after N/devil wind in the morning). The next swell is lining up for Sun PM through Tuesday AM and looks smaller in size, although with good potential for favorable wind. Into the long range, nothing major is on the horizon, although we could see another round of modest E swell around mid next week, with potential for some SW swell for the last couple days of the waiting period. 

J-Bay Open Round 1 Match-Ups:

Heat 1: Taj Burrow (AUS), Michel Bourez (PYF), Brett Simpson (USA)

Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Alejo Muniz (BRA)

Heat 3: Owen Wright (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS), C.J. Hobgood (USA)

Heat 4: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS), Dane Reynolds (USA)

Heat 5: Mick Fanning (AUS), Matt Banting (AUS), Tomas Hermes (BRA)

Heat 6: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Kolohe Andino (USA), Slade Prestwich (ZAF)

Heat 7: Josh Kerr (AUS), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Dusty Payne (HAW)

Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Glenn Hall (IRL)

Heat 9: Nat Young (USA), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS)

Heat 10: Italo Ferreira (BRA), Jadson Andre (BRA), Fredrick Patacchia (USA)

Heat 11: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Jordy Smith (ZAF), Ricardo Christie (NZL)

Heat 12: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Joel Parkinson (AUS), Keanu Asing (HAW)

Dave Prodan

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter