Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Soundwave sponsor Australian Junior Surfing Titles

Kyle Cooper (left) and Hamish Renwick of Tasmanian win 2011 © Surfing Australia



Industry Updates

Soundwave comes on-board as naming rights sponsor

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 9 July, 2012 : - - Coolangatta -- Australia’s premier music festival Soundwave has upgraded their support of the Australian Junior Surfing Titles, signing a new deal as naming rights sponsor. The festival, which tours Australia’s capital cities in February and March next year, is a massive boost to the prestigious event after being presenting partner in 2011.

For the first time, the titles will also include an Under 14 division to join more than 200 of Australia’s hottest Under 16 and Under 18 surfers at Nubeena in southern Tasmania. Regarded as the pinnacle of junior surfing in Australia, the Soundwave Australian Junior Surfing Titles from December 1-8 will be headquartered at Roaring Beach on the Tasman Peninsula, with a secondary location at Eaglehawk Neck Beach.

Both venues offer a variety of peaky beach breaks, but unlike other junior titles held in December wetsuits will be required as water temperatures will be around 13 degrees. Six states will be represented in the battle for the prestigious national titles, while school surfing will also make up a significant part of the event with competitors also chasing the Australian School Surfing Association Titles.

Soundwave General Manager Chris O’Brien said that music and surfing have always gone hand in hand. “After the huge success of the 2011 Junior Titles we couldn’t wait to jump back in to support the event again. I was at the championships in Coffs Harbour and got to witness first-hand the ferocious drive and passion that the new generation of surfers have. We are thrilled to be associated with junior surfing in Australia and cannot wait to see the new crop take their place on the world stage.”

Surfing Australia CEO Andrew Stark is extremely pleased with Soundwave coming on-board as naming rights sponsor. “We are extremely excited to see Soundwave step-up their support of the Australian Junior Surfing Titles,” he said.

“This event is the absolute benchmark for Aussie junior surfing and to have this support from this innovative music festival is outstanding.”
A win at the national level is regarded as a major step in a surfer’s competitive career with the list of past winners featuring some of the greatest names in world surfing including two-time ASP Men’s World Champion Mick Fanning and fellow Gold Coast surfers Joel Parkinson, Dean Morrison and Bede Durbidge, plus former World Champions Mark Richards, Tom Carroll and Damian Hardman.

Four-time ASP Women’s World Champion Stephanie Gilmore, former World Champion Chelsea Hedges, current World No.2 Sally Fitzgibbons and 2011 World Tour Rookie of the Year Tyler Wright are also included on the prestigious honour roll.

The Soundwave Australian Junior Surfing Titles is proudly supported by Events Tasmania, Surfing Australia, Surfing Tasmania, Australian School Surfing Association, Tasmanian Schools Surfing Association, Australian Sports Commission, the Federal Government’s Illicit Drugs in Sport Program, Nikon, Coastalwatch, TravelSIM and Suncorp.

Source: Surfing Australia

Author: Tim Brimblecombe

Tags: Soundwave, Australian Junior Surfing Titles, Junior Surfers, Australia

Industry: Surfersvillage



Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter