Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view SurfersVillage.com properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.

zo

Villages:

South Africa's Grant Baker up for a Billabong XXL Award

 

 

Grant Baker, Cortez Bank : photo Robert Brown/Billabong XXL

 

Team News

South Africa's Grant Baker up for Billabong XXL Award

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 10 April, 2008 : - - South Africa’s Grant ‘Twiggy’ Baker is one of the favourites to win the prestigious Billabong Biggest Wave award of US $15 000 and a Honda Aquatrax watercraft with HSA sled. Baker (Durban) was photgraphed riding what have been called the ‘biggest waves ever seen’ at the Cortes Bank, 160Kms off the coast of California in January.

The big wave swell magnets of Chile, Europe, South Africa, Australia, Hawaii, Mexico, California and French Polynesia came alive in 07/08, serving up a number of gargantuan swells that produced rides in all six categories. In a first for the Billabong XXL, nominated surfers, media, surf industry and webcast viewers will see 1999 World Surfing Champion Mark “Occy” Occhilupo host the eighth annual award’s ceremony.

In all, over $130,000 in cash and prizes will be awarded to the world's greatest big wave surfers in this edition of the Billabong XXL Awards presented by Monster Energy.  Verizon Wireless is the official communications provider and Honda is the official watercraft of the event.  Surfline.com is the exclusive surf forecast of the XXL. The event is sponsored by Surfing Magazine, Hawaiian Airlines and High Surf Accessories.

From 7:00pm Pacific Time, the world will tune into www.billabongxxl.com for all the action from the official awards ceremony LIVE via webcast including a special red carpet pre show. EXPN.com will also simulcast the awards ceremony.  ESPN 2 will air a one our feature program on the Billabong XXL starting May 29th at 9:30pm Pacific Time. 

LIVE WEBCAST TIMES

02:00 GMT (Saturday 12th)
19:00 Pacific Time (Friday 11th)
22:00 Eastern Time (Friday 11th)
23:00 Brazil Sao Paulo/Rio (Friday 11th)
16:00 Hawaii (Friday 11th)
12:00 Sydney Australia (Saturday 12th)
14:00 Auckland New Zealand (Saturday 12th)
10:00 Asia/Indonesia (Saturday 12th)
04:00 Paris France (Saturday 12th)
04:00 South Africa (Saturday 12th)

For all details about the Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards, please see the website at billabongxxl.com

The nominees for 2008, in alphabetical order:

FIVE BILLABONG XXL RIDE OF THE YEAR AWARD NOMINEES 
      (Surfer prize $50,000  -  Video prize $5,000)

Michael Brennan (Tasmania, Australia) at Shipstern Bluff, Tasmania on January 14, 2008.
     (Video by Kendall O'Brien)

Carlos Burle (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) at Ghost Tree, California on December 4, 2007.
     (Video by Greg Browning)

Shane Dorian (Kona, Hawaii, USA) at Teahupoo, Tahiti on November 1, 2007.
     (Video by Gustavo Camarao)

Manoa Drollet (Tahiti, French Polynesia) at Teahupoo, Tahiti on November 1, 2007.
     (Video by Gustavo Camarao)

Ian Walsh (Paia, Hawaii, USA) at Teahupoo, Tahiti on November 1, 2007.
     (Video by Gustavo Camarao)

FIVE BILLABONG XXL BIGGEST WAVE AWARD NOMINEES
     (Surfer prize $15,000 and a Honda Aquatrax watercraft with HSA sled  -  Photo/video prize $4,000)

Grant Baker (Durban, South Africa) at Cortes Bank off California on January 5, 2008.
     (Photos by Robert Brown)

Tyler Fox (Santa Cruz, California, USA) at Ghost Tree, California on December 4, 2007.
     (Photos by Mike Jones, Bart Keagy, Wayne Kelly & Dave Nelson.  Video by Bruno Lemos & Graham Nash.)

Brad Gerlach (Los Angeles, California, USA) at Ghost Tree, California on December 4, 2007.
     (Photos by Mike Jones, Bart Keagy, Wayne Kelly, Jason Murray & Sebastian Rojas.  Video by Greg Browning)

Vincent Lartizen (Hossegor, France) at Belharra Reef, France on January 4, 2008.
     (Photos by Greg Rabejac)

Mike Parsons (San Clemente, California, USA) at Cortes Bank off California on January 5, 2008.
     (Photos by Robert Brown)

FIVE MONSTER PADDLE AWARD NOMINEES
     (Surfer prize $15,000  -  Photo/video prize $4,000)

Ben Andrews (San Francisco, California, USA) at Maverick's, California on February 9, 2008.
     (Photos by Jack English, Don Montgomery & Frank Quirarte. Video by Noel Robinson)

Mark Healey (Sunset Beach, Hawaii, USA) at Todos Santos, Mexico on December 5, 2007.
     (Photos by A.J. Neste.  Video by Alejandro Berger)

Greg Long (San Clemente, California, USA) at Todos Santos, Mexico on December 5, 2007
     (Photos by Jeff Flindt, Edwin Morales & Jason Murray)

Jamie MItchell (Gold Coast, Australia) at Todos Santos, Mexico on December 5, 2007.
     (Photos by Jeff Flindt, Rich McMullin & Fred Pompermayer.  Video by Alejandro Berger)

Rodrigo Resende (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) at Todos Santos, Mexico on December 5, 2007.
     (Photo by A.J. Neste. Video by Alejandro Berger)

FIVE MONSTER TUBE PHOTO AWARD NOMINEES
     (Surfer prize $5,000  -  Photography prize $2,000)

Mike Brennan (Tasmania, Australia) at Shipstern Bluff, Tasmania on January 14, 2008.
     (Photos by Andrew Chisholm & Hilton Dawe)

Carlos Burle (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) at Ghost Tree, California on December 4, 2007.
     (Photos by Mike Jones, Jason Murray & Sebastian Rojas)

Manoa Drollet (Tahiti, French Polynesia) at Teahupoo, Tahiti on November 1, 2007.
     (Photos by Jeff Flindt, Tony Harrington, Tim McKenna, Tim Jones & Fred Pompermayer)

Raimana Van Bastolaer (Tahiti, French Polynesia) at Teahupoo, Tahiti on November 1, 2007.
     (Photos by Tim McKenna & Dave Nelson)

Ian Walsh (Paia, Hawaii, USA) at Teahupoo, Tahiti on November 1, 2007.
     (Photos by Sean Collins, Tony Harrington, Tim McKenna, Dave Nelson & Fred Pompermayer)

THREE SURFLINE BEST OVERALL PERFORMANCE AWARD NOMINEES  
     (Surfer prize $5,000)
Greg Long (San Clemente, California, USA)
Garrett McNamara (Sunset Beach, Hawaii, USA)
Jamie Sterling (Sunset Beach, Hawaii, USA)

THREE BILLABONG GIRLS BEST PERFORMANCE AWARD NOMINEES
     (Surfer prize $5,000)
Maya Gabeira (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
Jamilah Star (Santa Cruz, California, USA)
Jenny Useldinger (Oahu, Hawaii, USA)

www.billabongxxl.com

More African Surfing News available here
Check the latest Africa Surf Reports and Forecasts

New! B2B News ASBE-Surf   |  Receive News-Alerts

Life's a Beach Communications

Big Wave- Surfersvillage

Viewed: 
Weight: 
0
 
 

Latest photos

Newsletter

Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter