Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Teams listed for ISA World Bodyboard Champs


ISA World Bodyboard Champs

International Surfing Association
Playa Parguito, Margarita Island Venezuela
12 - 19 October 2013

Live Coverage Results/Photos/Videos etc

Opening Ceremony to kick off ISA World Bodyboard Champs | espanol

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 11 October, 2013 : - - The 2013 ISA World Bodyboard Championship (WBC) will be officially declared open on Saturday. A total of 9 National Delegations have registered to compete in the great waves of Playa Parguito, in the beautiful Margarita Island, Venezuela. The world’s best bodyboarders will compete for the Individual Gold Medals in 5 divisions and the World Team Champion Trophy.

Each National Team consists of seven athletes competing in the following categories: Open Men (3), Open Women (1), Junior Under-18 Boys (1) and Junior Under-18 Girls (1), Open Dropknee (1), plus Team Officials.

The confirmed teams are Argentina, Brasil, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Morocco, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and Venezuela. The Official Press Conference of the second consecutive ISA WBC was held at Waikiki Restaurant on Thursday, October 10.

In attendance were Gaetano “Nino” Lauro, ISA Technical Director; Antonio Sotillo, Local Organizer and President of the Venezuelan Surfing Federation (FVS); Heli Valero, Venezuelan Team Manager and Vice President of the FVS; and two Venezuelan National Team athletes Enyer Moncada and Glorialis Oropesa.

At the Press Conference, the participants answered different questions from the local media outlets, regarding several details of the event and its different participating National Bodyboarding Teams. Afterwards, everyone in attendance enjoyed cocktails, courtesy of the Schaffer family.

“Last year this event was magnificent. We had the opportunity to see competitors from France, South Africa, Japan and others in action. It was an impressive celebration, and I think that this year is going to be the same. This beach has an amazing beauty and it’s a paradise. The event setup is ready and I’m sure that with the high level of the competitors, we are going to have a great show”, said ISA Technical Director, Nino Lauro.

The President of the Venezuelan Surfing Federation, Antonio Sotillo added “We always wanted to host an ISA World Championship here in Venezuela, it was a dream for the Federation. It was one of the goals set by the Federation to have several international events, and thank God we had the opportunity. We had good results, this year we hope to succeed again and to host an ISA event every year. Thanks also to the ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, for this opportunity.”

The Opening Ceremony is on Saturday, October 12 at 3m (local time), which will feature the ISA’s traditional Parade of Nations and Sands of the World Ceremony. This ceremony allows each participating nation to come to the stage waving their national flag while pouring sand from their local beach into a glass container symbolizing the peaceful gathering of nations through the love of surfing.

Check the Live Coverage 


Gustavo Bartolini (Open Men’s)
Patricio Galay (Open Men’s)
Santiago Ezequiel (Open Men’s)
Santiago Martínez (Junior Under-18 Boys)
Gustavo Bartolini (Dropknee)


Eder Luciano (Open Men’s)
Roberto Bruno (Open Men’s)
Sergio Luis (Open Men’s)
Neymara Carvalho (Open Women’s)
Marcyus Thompson (Junior Under-18 Boys)
Renato Almeida (Dropknee)


Carlos Gallardo (Open Men’s)
Gabriel Brantes (Open Men’s)
Alan Muñoz (Open Men’s)
Giselle Caselli (Open Women’s)
Renato Arellano (Junior Under-18 Boys)
Catalina Hernandez (Junior Under-18 Girls)
Gonzalo Espinoza (Dropknee)

Costa Rica

Reymar Ramirez (Open Men’s)
Oscar Ulate (Open Men’s)
Marlon Sandoval (Open Men’s)
Shamoby Offer (Open Women’s)
Jefferson Bustos (Junior Under-18 Boys)
William Fallas (Dropknee)


Jorge Pulmón (Open Men’s)


Brahim Iddouch (Open Men’s)

Dominican Republic

Pascual Silveri (Open Men’s)
Juan Rivas (Open Men’s)
José Henriquez (Open Men’s and Dropknee)

Puerto Rico

Luz Marie Grande (Open Women’s)


Sergio Alonzo (Open Men’s)
Leoylan Montesinos (Open Men’s)
Enyer Moncada (Open Men’s)
Lumar Guittard (Open Women’s)
Luis Briceño (Junior Under-18 Boys)
Glorialys Oropesa (Junior Under-18 Girls)
Luis Rodríguez (Dropknee)

Previous reports:
# 1 : ISA World Bodyboard Champs return to Venezuela
# 2 : Coming Soon
# 3 :
Coming Soon
# 4 : Coming Soon

Source: ISA

Author: Carlos Escaba

Tags: Bodyboard, Venezuela, ISA World Bodyboard Champs

ISA: Surfersvillage


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter