Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



New event taps South Africa's surf history at Muizenberg

Surfing has a long history in Muizenberg © Ross Lindsay Collection



Tigers Milk Classic

Surfing South Africa
Surfers Corner in Muizenberg, Cape Town
12 - 13 September, 2015

Tigers Milk Surf Classic to attract more than 100 surfers

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 6 September, 2015 - Surfers Corner in Muizenberg is the most popular surfing beach in Cape Town and the country and it seems only fitting that the popular Muizenberg Corner restaurant, Tigers Milk, has stepped up to present the first ever multi discipline surfriding event to ever take place at this iconic venue.
Over 100 surfers, longboarders and SUP waveriders have entered the Tigers Milk Classic which will take place at the Corner on September 12th and 13th. Among the entries are World Champions, national champions in all three disciplines, national team members in all three disciplines and numerous provincial champions and team members.
Matthew Moir, a two time World Longboard Champion, is top seed in the Men’s Longboard division while current World Longboard Champion Simone Robb is top seed in the Women’s Longboard division.

Other Longboarders who have made their mark in top longboard events include Kwezi Qika,a member of the National Team in 2006, provincial representatives William Wallace, Michael Grendon,Tristan Lev, Tyrone Jensen,Robin Somogyvari, Alfonso Peters,John and Nobel de Castro, Kay Holt, Jessie Marjaan Goodman,Margreet Wibbelink, senior WP Longboard administrators, Patrick Corbitt and Paul O’Connell as well as legendary Longboard “Diva” Bernie Shelley.
The SUP contingent is headed by National representatives Justin Bing, Dylan Frick and the legendary Chris Bertish with Roxy Davis, Penny Stemmet and her twin sister Tammy Robarts top seeds in the Women’s SUP. The Varsity Division sees National team surfers Gina Smith, Nikita Kekana, Anoush Zakarian all competing in this unique addition to a local surfing event.
South African Team captain and current World ranked professional surfer Mikey February is top seed in the 2A Rated PST Men’s Surfing Division which has attracted former junior national team members, Jordy Maree, Steff Burrows and Diran Zakarian while current national team surfers Tanika Hoffman & Faye Zoetmulder come up against fellow national representatives Tarryn Chudleigh, Emma Smith and four time SA Champion Nikita Robb in the 2A Rated PST Women’s Division.
Others to watch in the Men's Division are recent SA Championships finalists and Muizenberg locals Craig Johnson and Brandon Benjamin, top junior surfers Jake and Max Elkington, Ethan Fletcher and Ford Van Jaarsveldt as well as Dillon Fernandez, Paul Sampson – Chudleigh and Donovan and Dylan Wichmann. Crystal Hulett, Danielle Johnson, Natasha Van Greunen, Pippa Jones are all well known provincial surfers and could surprise in the Women’s Division.
Each of the six Divisions offers R5000 in prizemoney with the winner of the Men’s Varsity Division securing himself a custom made Simmonds Surfboard. The winner of the Women’s Varsity Division will receive a Gul wetsuit in addition to her prizemoney. Vouchers for meals at Tigers Milk and a bunch of spot prizes will be won by contestants in the Tigers Milk Surf Classic and spectators will be able to listen to keep up with all the heats as they take place courtesy of the Surfing South Africa live scoring system.
All the officials including the judges will be adjudicating the event from behind the glass windows of the restaurant which overlooks the contest area and a monitor will be installed in Tigers Milk which will show the live scoring. The prizegiving will take place inside Tigers Milk immediately after the last final on Sunday September 13th. The heats and contest schedule for the 2015 Tigers Milk Surf Classic posted on on Friday September 4th
Surfing South Africa is the governing body for the sport in South Africa and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA).

Robin de Kock

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter