Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



On top down under: Australian Surfing Awards

2013 Nikon Surf Photo of the Year © Peter 'Joli' Wilson/


Australian Surfing Awards

Nominations open for Australian Surfing Awards

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 1 November, 2013 : - - Nominations are now open for the 2014 Australian Surfing Awards incorporating the Hall of Fame. Surfing’s night of nights will be held in Sydney, on 13th February, 2014 and will feature the who’s who of the Australian surfing community.

Current ASP Men’s World Tour Champion Joel Parkinson and five-time World Champion Stephanie Gilmore took the honours last year for the Male and Female Surfer of the Year awards, while Gilmore also became the 35th inductee into the Hall of Fame.

The Australian Surfing Awards is proudly supported by the NSW Government for the next two years, through Destination NSW, and is a key event on the NSW Events Calendar.

“Held during the week of the Australian Open of Surfing, the Australian Surfing Awards will officially return to Manly Beach next year as part of the NSW Events Calendar,” said NSW Treasurer and Member for Manly, Mike Baird.

“As the birthplace of Australian surfing, Manly is the ideal venue to host these prestigious Awards. “The Awards are an integral part of the Australian Open of Surfing, which in its first year attracted crowds of more than 166,000 people to Manly Beach, delivering an economic impact of close to $1.5 million.”

Other awards to be presented on the night will be the Rising Star Award, Waterman of the Year, ASB Surfing Spirit Award, Peter Troy Lifestyle Award, Surf Culture Award and the Simon Anderson Club Award. The 36th inductee will be voted on by members of the Australian Surfing Hall of Fame.

The Awards will also feature the Nikon Surf Photo of the Year and Nikon Surf Movie of the Year, which will showcase the finest work taken by Australia’s best surf photographers and filmmakers during the past 12 months. Peter ‘Joli’ Wilson won last year’s Nikon Photo of the Year with his image of the massive swell that hit Fiji’s Cloudbreak, while Storm Surfers 3D featuring Ross Clarke-Jones and Tom Carroll was named the Nikon Surf Movie of the Year.

The winner of the Nikon Surf Photo of the year will be awarded a new Nikon D4 DSLR. The winner of the Nikon Surf Movie of the Year will be awarded a new Nikon D800, along with over $2,000RRP of Nikon lenses and accessories.

NSW Minister for Tourism and Major Events, George Souris said: “The NSW Government is pleased to support the Australian Surfing Awards, a key event during the 2014 Australian Open of Surfing.
“The Australian Surfing Awards are a great addition to what will be a fantastic week of surfing, skating and music in Manly. 
“In February 2012, the Australian Open of Surfing was a resounding success, attracting crowds of more than 166,000 people to Manly Beach. In 2014 the event is expected to attract an audience of in excess of 175,000.”

Tim Brimblecombe

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter